facebook pixel Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

About L. S. Skaggs College of Pharmacy

To lead the nation in innovative pharmacy discovery and practice and inspire learners to be catalysts for change.​
Develop caring and collaborative pharmacists and scholars who improve health outcomes through transformative research and patient-centered care. 
​1. Integrity: Doing the right thing.
2. Access: Creating opportunities for outreach and engagement of underserved populations.
3. Inclusiveness: Seeking diversity by valuing everyone.
4. Collaboration: Nurturing a respectful community through mentorship, communication, and transparency.
5. Intellectual Curiosity: Fostering an environment that encourages research, scholarship, and entrepreneurship.
6. Accountability: Promoting a culture of patient and professional advocacy.​

As Idaho’s College of Pharmacy we serve all citizens of the state and are a national leader in telepharmacy services.  The primary degree offered by the College is the Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) that prepares students to become pharmacists.  In addition, the college offers a Masters and a Ph.D. in Pharmaceutical Sciences.  The Pharm.D. degree is delivered synchronously in Pocatello and Meridian, Idaho and Anchorage, Alaska.    

We are fully accredited by the Accreditation Council of Pharmacy Education through 2025.

The L. S. Skaggs College of Pharmacy trains caring and collaborative pharmacists and scholars while valuing integrity, access, inclusiveness, collaboration, intellectual curiosity, and accountability.  Our student outreach programs win national and regional awards and our NAPLEX pass rate remains highly competitive.

L. S. Skaggs College of Pharmacy 2018-2024 Strategic Plan

Benny the bengal in a white coat


Brief History

The L. S. Skaggs College of Pharmacy was founded by Eugene O Leonard in 1920 at the Idaho Technical Institute in Pocatello, Idaho and was the first college at Idaho State University.  We will celebrate our centennial in 2020. 



Continuing Education

ISU's Kasiska Division of Health Sciences Continuing Education Program offers high quality, unbiased, and up-to-date educational experiences for interprofessional teams that are designed to enhance practitioner competence in providing comprehensive, evidence-based healthcare for patients in a variety of settings and in rural areas.

The Kasiska Division of Health Sciences develops continuing education activities for nurses, pharmacists, physicians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and other healthcare professionals.




The L. S. Skaggs College of Pharmacy features faculty in three departments. The Biomedical and Pharmaceutical Sciences (BPSCI) department has faculty in Pocatello and Meridian, Idaho. Our Pharmacy Practice and Administrative Sciences (PPRA) department has faculty in Pocatello, Meridian and Anchorage.  The Department of Clinical Psychopharmacology has faculty in Pocatello and Meridian. Our curriculum also requires other specialty fields, and we have numerous adjunct and outstationed faculty that help us meet these needs. 

For more information about each department, click on the respective link below.

Skaggs Health Science Center Meridian Campus Sign outdoors

Pharmacy Fair

The L. S. Skaggs College of Pharmacy Recruiting & Exhibition Fair, held in Meridian, is a wonderful opportunity for students to meet with recruiters, explore residency opportunities and interview for open jobs.  Last year we had over 20 companies and 200 students in attendance.

Virtual Tour

You can take a virtual tour of the entire campus by clicking the picture to the left.  If you wish to go directly to the College of Pharmacy click the link above.

Kasiska Division of Health Sciences - Learn more about the Kasiska family legacy and impact