Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Preceptor Information

Pharmacy experiential education offers students hands-on practical experience in numerous pharmacy disciplines.  The experiential program is overseen by the Office of Experiential Education (OEE) and provides a continuum of required and elective pharmacy practice experiences that have been carefully coordinated with didactic coursework and co-curricular activities to be of appropriate scope, intensity, and duration to support specific pharmacy educational outcomes.

During the P1-P3 years, introductory pharmacy practice experiences are designed to progressively prepare students for advanced pharmacy practice experiences.  The culmination of these experiences is to produce practice-ready graduates who have the knowledge, skills, and attitudes of practitioners in order to advance healthcare and positively impact their patients' lives as part of an interprofessional team.

Precepting at ISU

Thank you for considering Idaho State University! 

To become a preceptor please reach out to Cassandra Tack at to start the process. We will start the process with a site visit, affiliation agreement, and collecting your availability for upcoming rotations! 

Affiliate Faculty Program

Our preceptors are invited to join our Affiliate Faculty Program. This allows preceptors access to our library and some benefits offered at ISU campuses! Requirements to apply are that you complete our recommended CEs as well as be available to take students every year you are an affiliate

Please email Joy Marie Menzel for more information at

Access to resources such as:
Facts & Comparisons
ISU Library
Syllabus Building

In order to meet our accreditation standards, we need to demonstrate that you have met a few preceptor development requirements. We request all active preceptors to complete the following CE classes offered through CEImpact found on eValue

1:  Understanding FERPA: A Guide for Preceptors

2:  What is this Wheel? Incorporating the Pharmacists' Patient Care Process into Experiential Rotations

3:  Entrustable Professional Activities: How to Train and Build Trust 

These CEs are free to all our active preceptors! Please log into eValue to access CEImpact. 

2022-2023 ISU IPPE Block Schedule

IPPE Community/Institutional

Block Dates for 2022-2023

Block 1: 5/16/2022 - 6/3/2022
Block 2: 6/6/2022 - 6/24/2022
Block 3: 6/27/2022 - 7/15/2022
Block 4: 7/18/2022 -8/5/2022
Block 5: 12/12/2022 - 1/6/2023 (winter)

2022-2023 ISU APPE Block Schedule

2022-2023 APPE dates:

Block 1: 5/16/2022 – 6/24/2022
Block 2: 6/27/2022 – 8/5/2022
Block 3: 8/8/2022 – 9/16/2022
Block 4: 9/19/2022 – 10/28/2022
Block 5: 10/31/2022 – 12/9/2022
Block 6: 12/26/2022 – 2/3/2023
Block 7: 2/6/2023 – 3/17/2023
Block 8: 3/20/2023 – 4/28/2023

Idaho State University Events and Celebrations  

Start of the Fall Semseter:  8/22/2022
End of Fall Semseter: 12/16/2022
Start of the Spring Semseter:  1/09/2023
End of Spring Semseter: 5/05/2023
University Commencement: 5/06/2023


Pharmacy Fair: TBA
Preceptor Availability Due: TBA
Release of schedule for APPE: TBA
Release of schedule for IPPE: TBA

We want to be a source of support for all of our preceptors. Starting in 2022 we will be hosting townhall meetings two times a month to address changes within the college, community, and precepting. Each of these meetings will be recorded and can be found below. 

January 2022 

2022 Preceptors of the Year!

We are excited to announce our selected Preceptors of the Year! Each of these preceptors have showed not only excellence in their abillity to mentor and teach students but also have had wide spread impact on their indivudal communties. All of our winners were selected by student nomination and identifed by their commiment to phamarcy education. 


Site of the Year

Boise VA Medical Center

We are excited to announce and select a site of the year. Through their commitment to the community and teaching, Boise VA has been an amazing partner to Idaho State University throughout the years. Dr. Black and Dr. Mason have provided the space for ISU students to grow and encounter a wide range of experiences that can only be achieved at the VA. We are excited to acknowledge and thank this wonderful site and preceptors for all that they have done and continue to do for the Boise area. 



East Idaho

Faculty Preceptor: Tracy Pettinger PharmD

APPE Preceptor of Zone: Mark Keyes PharmD

APPE Preceptor of Excellence: Brady Dowding PharmD

IPPE Community Preceptor of Excellence: Drew Voltura PharmD

IPPE Institutional Preceptor of Excellence: Justin Messenger PharmD

Western Idaho

Faculty Preceptor: Karl Madaras-Kelly  PharmD, MPH

APPE Preceptor of the Zone: John Thomas PharmD

APPE Preceptor of Excellence Rob Wills PharmD, BCPS

IPPE Community Preceptor of Excellence: Julia Hatmaker PharmD

IPPE Institutional Preceptor of Excellence: Malyssa West  PharmD



Faculty Preceptor: Megan Penner PharmD

APPE Preceptor of the Zone: Kaleigh M Owens Pharm D, BCACP, BCPS

APPE Preceptor of Excellence: Brianna Argubright PharmD

IPPE Community Preceptor of Excellence: Anne Crowell RPh

IPPE Institutional Preceptor of Excellence: Brian Haviland PharmD

Northern Idaho

APPE Preceptor of the Zone: Anna Hoenke PharmD

APPE Preceptor of Excellence: Korey Kreider PharmD

Southern Idaho

APPE Preceptor of the Zone: Alex Lystrup PharmD, BCPS

APPE Preceptor of Excellence: Rudy Deleon PharmD


APPE Preceptor of the Zone: Justin Holt PharmD, BCACP

APPE Preceptor of Excellence: Olivia Emerson, PharmD, BCPS





2022 Preceptor and Site Spotlight

Preceptors and Sites of Excellence 2021

Kasiska Division of Health Sciences - Learn more about the Kasiska family legacy and impact