facebook pixel Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Certification Testing

Students from the Idaho State University College of Education Teaching and Education Studies Department can learn more about certification testing including the ICLA Assessment exam and Praxis II tests.  

Meet Your Advisor

The Idaho Comprehensive Literacy Assessment (ICLA) measures the knowledge and skills needed for research-based literacy instruction. The ICLA contains four sections administered as a separate exam:

  1. Structure of Language
  2. Comprehension
  3. Assessment 
  4. Writing Process and Knowledge

The Praxis II tests are a series of achievement tests that assess subject-matter knowledge and principles of learning and teaching. Consistent with the rules of the Idaho State Board of Education, all graduates from the Idaho State University College of Education recommended for initial Idaho certification must obtain the required passing score on the Praxis II Content Test(s) in each subject area for which they are being recommended for certification. The Idaho State Board of Education requires all candidates recommended for State of Idaho teacher certification to meet qualifying scores on the Praxis II Subject Area Test(s) in their teaching field(s).