facebook pixel Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Alumni and Friends

Professional Achievement Award Winners

Professional Achievement Award recipients are alumni who have made important contributions to their careers or profession, to the social, political or economic well-being of the world around them and have shown continued community and civic involvement in addition to their association with and contributions to Idaho State University. Individuals selected for these prestigious awards have been out of school at least 10 years and have excelled in their chosen field, attaining significant success and accomplishments.

2023 College of Science and Engineering Professional Achievement Award Recipient

Dr. Curtis Smith

Dr. Curtis Smith

College of Science and Engineering

Dr. Curtis Smith is the Director of the INL Nuclear Safety and Regulatory Research Division, leading a staff of 83 scientists and engineers supporting the demonstration of innovative nuclear energy solutions and resilient critical infrastructure. Prior to taking a leadership role as Division Director, he led several risk-informed activities including the Risk-Informed Systems Analysis Pathway under the Department of Energy Light Water Reactor Sustainability Program; the Nuclear Regulatory Commission’s SAPHIRE risk analysis software development; the Risk Integration and Uncertainty Working Group for the NASA Interagency Nuclear Safety Review Panel for both the Mars 2020 and Mars Science Laboratory missions; and served on the executive committee for the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Safety Engineering and Risk Analysis Division. In 2023, Dr. Smith was awarded the INL Laboratory Director Award for Leadership.

Dr. Smith has been at INL for over 33 years and has published over 300 papers, books, and reports on risk, safety, and reliability theory and applications. He holds a B.S. and M.S. in nuclear engineering from Idaho State University and a Ph.D. in nuclear engineering from MIT. 


Outstanding Student Achievement Award Winners

The Outstanding Student Achievement Awards recognizes graduating students who have demonstrated outstanding service to their respective college, to Idaho State University and to the community, and who also have exceptional scholastic achievement. 

2023 College of Science and Engineering Outstanding Student Achievement Award Recipients

Austin Robison

Austin Robison

Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry Minor in chemistry

  • 3.9 GPA 
  • Received multiple scholarships
  • Resident Assistant
  • ASISU Senator for the College of Science and Engineering
  • Research Technician
  • INBRE Fellowship
Claire Wasniewski

Claire Wasniewski

Bachelor of Science Honors Degree in Biology, biomedical concentration Minor in pre-physician assistant studies and certificate in medical anthropology

  • 3.98 GPA 
  • Deans List
  • Laura M. Cunningham 4-Year Scholarship recipient
  • University Honors Program - Secretary
  • Second-runner up 2022 ISU Student Employee of the Year
  • Teaching Assistant in the Advanced Anatomy Lab
Cooper Dastrup

Cooper Dastrup

Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering

  • 3.76 GPA 
  • Multiple scholarships 
  • Laura Moore Cunningham 4 -Year Scholarship recipient
  • Vice President of Space Initiative
  • Career Path Intern
  • Resident Assistant
  • Internship with Williams International helping manufacture jet engines