facebook pixel Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Confidentiality Agreement

Idaho State University, in compliance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), is responsible for maintaining educational records and monitoring the release of information of those records. Staff and faculty with access to student educational records are legally responsible for protecting the privacy of the student by using the information only for legitimate educational reasons to instruct, advise, or otherwise assist students.

Almost any student-related piece of paper is part of that student's educational record. Also, student-related information displayed on a computer screen is considered part of the student's educational record.

"Personally Identifiable Information" is information contained in any record which makes a student's identity easily traceable. You must take care to protect this information from third parties outside the University and you must work within the confines of legitimate educational interest within the institution.

Class rosters/grades sheets: These and other reports should be handled in a confidential manner and the information contained on them should not be redisclosed to third parties.

Parents: Parents, spouses and other relatives do not have a right to information contained in a student's educational record.

Electronic Data Storage: Access to the Student Information System is not tantamount to authorization to view the data. Faculty and staff are deemed to be "school officials" and can access data in the Student System if they have a "legitimate educational interest." A legitimate educational interest exists if the faculty or staff member needs to view the education record in order to fulfill his or her professional responsibility. Neither curiosity nor personal interest is a legitimate educational "need to know."

The consequences of not following the law are as follows:

  • Lawsuit
  • Loss of Federal funding
  • Conviction of a misdemeanor under the Public Information Act:
    Confinement in the county jail not to exceed 6 months or
    Fine not to exceed $1,000 or
  • Dismissal