Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Department of Political Science

Capitol building


Our mission is to advance understanding of politics and policy through research, discussion and interactions.  As scholars, we strive to push the boundaries of knowledge through original research; as teachers, we engage students with issues, concepts and skills to generate broad-based knowledge; and as community members, we encourage all to think critically, question the expected, and contribute an informed discussion to politics and public life. We believe in learning about the world around us, thinking critically about issues, and communicating clearly and persuasively.

Please watch this short video about the department featuring Political Science faculty member, Dr. Colin Johnson.


The Department of Political Science at Idaho State University offers a minor and majors leading to the Bachelor of Arts, and Bachelor of Sciences degrees as well as the Master of Arts, the Master of Public Administration, and Doctor of Arts degrees. We serve more than 130 majors, minors, and graduate students and enroll between 400 to 500 students in our classes each semester. Our student organizations include the Pi Sigma Alpha Honors Society, the Law Club, and the Political Science Club. Our department and our programs provide classes for the Global Studies Program, the Gender and Sexuality Program, and several Secondary Education programs.