facebook pixel Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Outstanding Biology Student Awards

Approved by the Awards & Recommendation Committee: 9 March 2018

The Outstanding Biology Student Awards recognize the contributions of our students to the ISU Department of Biological Sciences. These are important awards as they honor our outstanding students and remind us that the scholarly activities of our biology students are central to our department's mission.  Our past awardees have continued to participate in academic and community work across the globe.

Faculty, staff, and students are encouraged to nominate outstanding students for the following three awards. The awards will be announced at the Graduation Reception in early May.

  • Outstanding Undergraduate Student (OUGS) - the OUGS will be awarded to a full-time undergraduate student that has made significant contributions that could include departmental service, academic achievement, and undergraduate research as indicated by supervisor/mentor recommendations and transcripts.
  • Outstanding Graduate Student (OGS) - the OGS will be awarded to a full-time graduate student that has made significant contributions to departmental service, research productivity, and academic achievement as indicated by supervisor/mentor recommendations and transcripts. 
  • Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant (OGTA) -  the OGTA will be awarded to a full-time graduate student that has made significant contributions to departmental teaching as indicated by student evaluations and supervisor/mentor recommendations.


Nominate a Student

Nominations will be accepted March through mid-April each year.

  1. Write a letter of recommendation and include:
    • Award type (OUGS, OGS, or OGTA)
    • Name of Nominee
    • Explanation for nomination
  2. Submit the letter of recommendation to the Biology Main Office (LS 227):

Department of Biological Sciences
ATTN: Outstanding Biology Student Award
921 S. 8th Avenue, Stop 8007
Idaho State University
Pocatello, ID 83209


Past Awardees

2017/2018  Rachel Brinkley & Catilin Vitale-Sullivan Jade Ortiz  Janet Braun
2016/2017  Rayna Flynn Dainee Gibson Tyson Hallbert
2015/2016  Martha Maldonado  Johanna Thalman  John Gilmer
2014/2015  Michael Vincen-Brown Gaurav Kaushik  Roy Hill
2013/2014  Amber Slatosky Matthew Dean Michael Madrid
2012/2013 Bryce Rhodehouse  Ryan Long Matthew  Osborne 
2011/2012  Jamie Mayo  Scott Collins Masaru Takahashi
2010/2011 Andrew Carroll Kevin Monteith Amanda Hillis