facebook pixel Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Students take top awards at APhA-ASP National Patient Counseling Competition

POCATELLO - February 7, 2022
Each year student pharmacists from all three campuses of Idaho State University’s (ISU) College of Pharmacy (Pocatello (ID), Meridian (ID), and Anchorage (AK)) compete in the APhA-ASP National Patient Counseling Competition. This year’s local competition took place February 7th to February 11th and the College of Pharmacy is proud to announce that first place went to Savannah Bravo! Savannah, a third year pharmacy student on ISU’s Meridian campus is originally from Coeur d’ Alene, ID where she loves hiking, camping, and enjoying time on the lake during summer and during winter spends her free time skiing. Savannah will go on to represent ISU as she progresses to the national competition taking place March 17th to March 19th. 

The major objective of the APhA-ASP National Patient Counseling Competition is to encourage and support student pharmacists to become better patient educators, promoting further professional
development of the student pharmacist and reinforcing the role of the pharmacist in improving medication use and advancing patient care. The competition begins on the local level as students compete to be the national representative from their school or college of pharmacy. Once the local winner from each school or college of pharmacy is decided, this individual will then
compete on the national level at the APhA2022 Annual Meeting & Exposition in San Antonio, TX.

We would also like to recognize our second and third place winners; Desiree Molina and Sage Nielson. Desiree, a second year pharmacy student on ISU’s Anchorage campus is from Palmer, AK. Desiree enjoys working part time as a barista at Palmer Coffee Company. Sage Nielson, a second year pharmacy student from Tremonton, UT studies at ISU's Pocatello campus. She loves playing tennis and basketball. Thank you to all who participated in the competition and congratulations to the top three winners!
Wriitten by: Emily Knowles , PharmD Candidate 2023; Anne Reyes, PharmD Candidate 2023; Anushka Burde, PharmD, Pocatello PPSA Advisor; Kevin Cleveland, PharmD, Meridian PPSA Advisor; Renee Robinson, PharmD, Anchorage PPSA Advisor

Kasiska Division of Health Sciences - Learn more about the Kasiska family legacy and impact