facebook pixel Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

ISU announces Eastern Idaho Science Olympiad winning teams

April 9, 2015
ISU Marketing and Communications

Three teams from Hawthorne Middle School in Pocatello swept the competition at the Eastern Idaho Science Olympiad, held at Idaho State University earlier this month.

The event was sponsored by the ISU Department of Physics and featured six teams of seventh through ninth grade students from Franklin Middle School and Hawthorne Middle School. The teams competed with homemade water rockets, wheeled vehicles, hydraulic ball shooters, and wood bridges. Students took part in a forensics challenge, testing of their knowledge and experimental skills in other fun science events.

The teams earning first, second and third place in each event were presented with gold, silver and bronze medals. The teams with the highest composite ranking over all events were presented with trophies and cash awards to support science education courtesy of the Pocatello Kiwanis club.

The first-place team included Kristan Alexander, Dallin Bunderson, Zach Garvin, Maddy Hale, Craig Holm, Bryce Johnson, Alissa Palmer and Jake Wilde.

The second-place team included Ethan Bosworth, Tyson Burrup, Maele Christensen, Kristi Cooper, Jackson Dahlstrom, Jack Hall, Carson Hawkins and Skylar Warner.

The third-place team included Kimberly Hawes, Tanner Morgan, Connor Muhonen, Karl Parsons, Luke Parsons, Dick (DJ) Shore and Cody Stinnett.

All three winning teams were coached by Gail Dutton of Hawthorne Middle School.

The Franklin Middle School teams were coached by Maria Wilson and Ken Dehl.

All teams are encouraged to compete in the state competition on April 11 in Nampa. The Idaho champion team will be invited to compete in the National Science Olympiad at Indiana University in May.

The Science Olympiad is a national non-profit organization dedicated to improving the quality of science education, increasing student interest in science, and providing recognition for outstanding achievement by both students and teachers.

The Olympiad was made possible by faculty and student volunteers from the ISU departments of physics, biology, chemistry, and the Idaho Museum of Natural History, and volunteer scientists and engineers from the Idaho National Laboratory.

More information on the Science Olympiad program is available at www.soinc.org. For more information on the Eastern Idaho Science Olympiad, contact Dr. Steve Shropshire at shrostev@isu.edu, or 282-2212.


University News