Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Idaho State University chemistry Professor Joshua Pak named American Chemical Society Fellow

August 2, 2015
ISU Marketing and Communications

POCATELLO – Idaho State University chemistry Professor Joshua Pak is one of 78 scientists named to the 2015 class of the American Chemical Society Fellows.

The ACS honors scientists who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in chemistry and made important contributions to ACS, the world’s largest scientific society. This year’s class of ACS Fellows represents a wide range of disciplines and geographic locations, from 30 of the Society’s technical divisions, 57 local sections and 23 national committees.

The 2015 Fellows will be recognized at a ceremony and reception on Monday, Aug.17, during the Society’s 250th National Meeting and Exposition in Boston.

According to the ACS, Pak was selected because he has advocated for high-quality research experiences for undergraduates and high school students in the areas of organic and inorganic materials.

Pak also served as chair of the ACS Committee on Project SEED, the ACS’s summer research program for economically disadvantaged students to expand their education and career outlook. He was the general co-chair of the ACS Northwest Regional meeting hosted at ISU this summer that attracted hundreds of participants. His other areas of service include being the ACS Idaho Local Section Councilor, National Chemistry Week Coordinator and Chemistry Club Advisor, with a strong emphasis on chemistry outreach.

“Through their work, the ACS Fellows are using the transforming power of chemistry to improve health, protect the planet and feed the world’s population,” said ACS President Diane Grob Schmidt. “Through their service in the community they are making science accessible to all, supporting students and teachers and giving back through countless acts of public outreach.”

The ACS Fellows Program was created by the ACS Board of Directors in December 2008 “to recognize members of ACS for outstanding achievements in and contributions to science, the profession and the Society.”

The official list of names appeared in the July 13, 2015, issue of Chemical & Engineering News, online at


University News