facebook pixel Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Premier Technology’s Sayer named Idaho Business Leader of the Year

January 21, 2009
ISU Marketing and Communications

Douglas A. Sayer, founder and president of Premier Technology, Inc., will be recognized as “Idaho Business Leader of the Year” at the showcase event of the Delta Upsilon Chapter of Alpha Kappa Psi, the professional business fraternity at Idaho State University.

The dinner event will be held in the L.E. and Thelma E. Stephens Performing Arts Center at Idaho State University on Thursday, March 12.

Douglas A. Sayer The award annually recognizes an Idaho business leader who has demonstrated outstanding business and professional ethics while contributing significant support to worthwhile community, civic and education activities. Awarded by ISU College of Business students since 1959, previous honorees have included a congressman-elect, former governors, entrepreneurs and leaders of some of Idaho’s largest companies. The recognition program is the longest-standing such program in Idaho.

Premier Technology, Inc. which was formed in 1996 with only three employees, began by making equipment to improve the way French-fries were battered. The company went on to develop a number of innovative products for the food processing industry.

Under Sayer’s leadership, the company has grown into an engineering, design and fabrication company with more than 350 employees. Company facilities in Blackfoot, Pocatello and Twin Falls serve the nuclear, chemical, mining, pharmaceutical, medical and defense communities while remaining a major player in food processing. The company’s products include structural decks, tanks and silos, sanitary piping, conveyors and radiation shielding and equipment.

The company has joined the ranks of the top 75 Idaho private companies, now ranked in 56th place, up from 83rd place last year.

Employee development at Premier is reflected in the company’s mission statement, which is prominently posted at the entrance to Premier’s corporate offices in Blackfoot: “To develop our people into the leaders of the industry, while providing our customers with the highest quality service.”

Sayer is also committed to Rural Idaho Outreach Partners (RIOP), which aims to build workers’ employable skills in some of the state’s rural areas. One Salmon-based firm, Commander Chassis, has already performed nuclear quality machining work for Premier. Premier Technology has also announced plans to open a plant in Sayer’s hometown of Mackay in early 2010. The plant will employ 10 to 50 workers.

In addition to generous support of community charities, foundations and organizations, Sayer has also been a supporting member of Employer Support for the Guard and Reserve since 2004. Premier Technology was recognized with the “Employer of Veterans” award from the Idaho American Legion in 2008.

Ticket and table pricing information will be available soon. For more information now, contact Cassey Newbold, Alpha Kappa Psi Idaho Business Leader of the Year chair, at (208) 241-8099 or by e-mail at newbcass@isu.edu.

A complete list of award winners follows:

Idaho “Business Leader of the Year” Award Recipients

1959    M.T. Deaton, M.T. Deaton & Company, Pocatello

1960    Ralph R. Comstock, Sr., First Security Bank, Boise

1961    Clarence Garrett, Garrett Freightlines, Pocatello

1962    Harry W. Morrison, Morrison-Knudson, Boise

1963    J.R. Simplot, J.R. Simplot Company, Boise

1964    C. Ed Flandro, Flandro Ford, Pocatello

1965    Robert V. Hansberger, Boise Cascade Company, Boise

1966    Thomas E. Roach, Idaho Power Company, Boise

1967    Dr. Frank Seelye Dean, ISU College of Business, Pocatello

1968    Curtis Eaton, Sr., Twin Falls Bank and Trust, Twin Falls

1969    Ralph R. Comstock, Jr., First Security Bank, Boise

1970    J. Grant Bickmore, Idaho Bank and Trust, Pocatello

1971    Cecil Andrus, State of Idaho, Boise

1972    Albert Carlsen, Idaho Power Company, Boise

1973    John Dahl, J.R. Simplot Company, Boise

1974    Sy Block, Blocks, Inc., Pocatello

1975    Robert D. Bolinder, Albertson's, Inc., Boise

1976    J Allen Jensen, KID-TV, Idaho Falls

1977     No award         

1978    Fred C. Humphreys, Idaho First National Bank, Boise

1979     No award         

1980     No award         

1981    Ted E. Ellis, Key Bank of Idaho, Boise

1982    Dale Dunn, J.R. Simplot Company, Boise

1983    Robert C. Hammond, Jensen Oil Company, Idaho Falls

1984    Harry F. Magnuson, H.F. Magnuson Company, Wallace

1985    Warren E. McCain, Albertson's, Inc., Boise

1986    Jon H. Miller, Boise Cascade Company, Boise

1987    Park Price, III, Park Price Motor Company, Pocatello

1988    Sybil Ferguson, Diet Center, Rexburg

1989     No award         

1990    Curtis Eaton, Jr., First Security Bank, Twin Falls

1991    Keith Hinckley, Basic American Foods, Blackfoot

1992    Walter Minnick, T.J. International, Boise

1993    Don Aslett, Varsity Cleaners, Pocatello

1994    Gordon C. Smith, J.R. Simplot Company, Boise

1995    Sam H. Bennion, V-1 Oil Company, Idaho Falls

1996    Michael M. Mooney, Key Bank of Idaho, Boise

1997    Gary G. Michael, Albertson's, Inc., Boise

1998    Frank L. Vandersloot, Melaleuca, Idaho Falls

1999    William C. Glynn, Intermountain Industries, Inc., Boise

2000    Carolyn Ticknor, Hewlett-Packard, Boise

2001    Theodore Crumley, Boise Cascade Company, Boise

2002    ISU Centennial, all past winners honored         

2003    James Rogers , Sunbelt Communications, Pocatello

2004    Chris King, AMI Semiconductor, Pocatello

2005    Ed Dahlberg, St. Luke's Regional Medical, Boise

2006    Duane B. Hagadone, Hagadone Corporation, Coeur d' Alene

2007    James Johnston, Home Specialists, Pocatello

2008    Arlo D. Luke, Varsity Contractors, Pocatello

2009    Douglas A. Sayer, Premier Technology, Inc., Blackfoot


University News