facebook pixel Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Idaho State University physics professor Shropshire elected to national board

November 16, 2009
ISU Marketing and Communications

Steve Shropshire, a physics professor at Idaho State University, has been elected to serve on the Executive Board of the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) as the representative of all four-year colleges and universities in the United States.

Steve ShropshireThe AAPT is a professional membership association of scientists dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching, with more than 11,000 members in 30 countries around the world, according to Shropshire.

The AAPT was established in 1930 with the fundamental goal of ensuring the dissemination of knowledge of physics, particularly by way of teaching. Today, it is the world’s foremost professional society for physics and physical science education, and is the nation’s leading provider of professional development services to physics and physical science teachers.

Shropshire did not seek nomination for this position, but was honored to accept when requested to by AAPT leadership and the AAPT Nominating Committee. He will serve a three-year term to begin in February 2010.


University News