Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

ISU will confer 2,010 degrees; Gov. Otter scheduled to speak

May 10, 2007
ISU Marketing and Communications

A total of 1,932 graduates will receive 2,010 degrees and certificates during Idaho State University’s 103rd spring commencement ceremonies, which will begin at 2 p.m. May 12 in Holt Arena. Seventy-six students will receive multiple certificates and/or degrees.

Idaho Gov. C.L. "Butch" Otter, accompanied by First Lady Lori Otter, is scheduled to speak at commencement.

In addition to the presentation of these degrees and certificates, an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters and Science degree will be awarded, three distinguished faculty members will be acknowledged, nine alumni will be recognized for their professional achievement and 11 outstanding students will be recognized.

The breakdown of graduates includes 19 Doctor of Philosophy degrees, four Doctor of Education degrees, nine Doctor of Arts degrees, 24 Doctor of Physical Therapy degrees, seven Educational Specialist degrees, one Education Specialist sixth-year certificate, 66 Doctor of Pharmacy degrees, one post-master’s certificate in nursing, three post-baccalaureate certificates in geotechnology, one certificate in applied nuclear energy, 339 master’s degrees, 1,076 bachelor’s degrees, 224 associate degrees and 236 certificates from the College of Technology.

L.S. “Sam” Skaggs, for whom the ALSAM Foundation is named along with his wife, Aline, will be given an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters and Science degree. An entrepreneur and philanthropist, Skaggs is often credited as the father of the modern super drug-store chain. Skaggs, who has roots in southeast Idaho, is known for his national and international contributions to education in pharmacy, health sciences and biomedical research. Several pharmacy schools in the western United States have benefited from his philanthropy, including Idaho State University’s College of Pharmacy, which recently received $5 million to acquire teaching and research space in the Treasure Valley. The foundation also provided an additional $250,000 in scholarships for minority students.

Faculty members to be recognized for distinguished service are Kandi Jo Turley-Ames, PhD, psychology, 2007 Distinguished Teacher; Nancy Huntly, PhD, ecology and biology, 2007 Distinguished Researcher; and Habib Sadid, PhD, engineering, 2007 Distinguished Public Service Award.

Nine alumni will be honored with professional achievement awards from their respective colleges and the ISU Alumni Association. They are Roger Akers, Fair Oaks, Calif., College of Business; W. Jeffrey Allard, PhD, Harleysville, Penn., College of Arts and Sciences – Natural Sciences; Earl Bowen, Honolulu, Hawaii, and Los Angeles, Calif., College of Arts and Sciences – Arts and Humanities; Janet C. Burdick, Twin Falls, College of Education; Ray Furstenau, Idaho Falls, College of Engineering; Thomas Harris, Eagle, College of Technology; Lisa K. Higbee, Pocatello, Kasiska College of Health Professions; Norman L. Jones, PhD, Logan, Utah, College of Arts and Sciences – Social Sciences; and Gary Tauscher, PhD, Hilton Head Island, S.C., College of Pharmacy.

Outstanding Student Achievement Award winners to be honored are: Christian Batcheller, Stuart, Va., Graduate School, Master’s Degree; Evan S. Frasure, III, Pocatello, College of Pharmacy; Deborah Gillard, Pocatello and Sacramento, Calif., College of Technology; Jeffrey J. Grieve, College of Arts and Sciences – Social Sciences; Edwin A. Guerra, Mexico City, Mexico, College of Engineering; Michael J. Lance, Inkom, College of Arts and Sciences – Natural Sciences and Mathematics; Torey L. Portrie-Bethke, Rochester, N.H., Graduate School – Doctoral; R. Tal Sampson, Pocatello, College of Arts and Sciences – Fine Arts and Humanities; Kristal Searle, Pocatello, College of Business; Melanie Williams, Riggins, College of Education; and Angela Young, Pocatello and Placenta, Calif., Kasiska College of Health Professions.

Patrick Brooks, PhD, ISU director of bands, will conduct the University Wind Ensemble in the processional, recessional and the National Anthem, while the University Concert Choir, directed by Scott Anderson, PhD, will perform the National Anthem. Soprano Brittany Ann Winberg, accompanied by Abbi Clark on piano, will present the “Alma Mater Hymn.”

Carl Levenson, PhD, English and philosophy professor and lay religious leader for Temple Emanuel, will give the invocation. Karl De Jesus, PhD, chair of the Faculty Senate, will place the faculty mace. Institutional reader will be John Gribas, PhD, professor of communication and rhetorical studies. David Sanna, president of the ISU Alumni Association, will greet the graduates.

ISU President Arthur C. Vailas, PhD, will recognize the distinguished faculty and confer the degrees. Presentation of graduates will be by the University deans: John L. Kijinski, PhD, College of Arts and Sciences; Deborah Hedeen, PhD, College of Education; William E. Stratton, PhD, College of Business; Linda C. Hatzenbuehler, PhD, Kasiska College of Health Professions; Richard Jacobsen, PhD, College of Engineering; Marilyn Davis, EdD, College of Technology, Interim Dean; Joseph F. Steiner, PhD, College of Pharmacy; and Thomas Jackson, PhD, Graduate School.

A reception for graduates and their guests will follow the ceremony on the floor of Holt Arena. Interpreting service for people with hearing disabilities will be provided by the ADA and Disability Resource Center.

The 2007 graduates include those who completed their degree work by Dec. 15, 2006, and May 11.


University News