Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University

Fourteen eastern Idaho high school students receive $120,450 in scholarships from Idaho State University

May 31, 2017

POCATELLO – Fourteen eastern Idaho high school students will receive more than $120,450 in scholarships from Idaho State University toward their undergraduate degrees. The students learned about these scholarships through the College of Arts and Letters Road Scholars program.

Fourteen eastern Idaho high school students receive $120,450 in scholarships from Idaho State University
Dean Kandi Turley-Ames with Independence Road Scholars winner Megan Farish and principal Mark Kartchner

The College awarded $28,000 in Road Scholars Scholarships from their Dean’s Excellence Fund. During their visits, they informed each winning student about the additional scholarships they will receive from ISU including the Step Ahead Award and New Incoming Freshmen Scholarship, among others.

The Road Scholars program was started in 2016 when the College’s Dean Kandi Turley-Ames wanted to find another way to help combat Idaho’s low go-on rate for students continuing on to college after high school.

“Recruiting more students from eastern Idaho has always been a goal of ours, and through the Road Scholars program, we have been able to do so,” Turley-Ames said.

Students were nominated by their high school principals, and were then asked to write a one-page essay that described their college and career goals. Once the College received the submissions, students were selected based on their GPA, major of interest and goals highlighted in the essay. The College scheduled a visit to each high school and surprised the winning students during an assembly, class or small meeting. 

“Most students rely on financial aid to start and finish their education, and we wanted to help these students who need it the most,” Turley-Ames said. “By telling each student how much additional money they will be getting from ISU, it makes college seem like a more viable option.”

Students from Marsh Valley, Hillcrest, Snake River, Blackfoot, Independence, Century, Highland, Pocatello, Skyline and American Falls high schools were awarded scholarships.

For more information about the Road Scholars program or photo requests, contact Melissa Lee at 282-1404 or