facebook pixel Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Philosophy Program Announces Annual Scholarship Recipients

May 16, 2022

The Philosophy Program is pleased to announce that two undergraduate students have been awarded scholarships for the 2022-23 school year. These students are Maddie Salisbury and Dylan Longoria.

Salisbury is the recipient of the Carl A. Levenson Scholarship. She is a junior at ISU majoring in philosophy-pre-law.

“I’ve loved every minute of it,” she says of her experience in the Philosophy Program and at ISU. She plans to attend law school after completing her B.A. The Levenson scholarship was created in 2021 by ISU alumnus Tom Neel, a former student of Dr. Levenson, who taught philosophy at ISU for 35 years before retiring in 2016.

Longoria is the recipient of the William L. King Scholarship. Dylan is also a junior at ISU, majoring in philosophy with minors in philosophy and religion as well as art history. After graduating, he hopes to attend graduate school.

“I want to pursue my Ph.D. and eventually become a professor myself,” Longoria says. 

Longoria was also the first recipient Levenson Scholarship in 2021. This scholarship was established in 2022 by the family of Dr. King to honor his 34-year career as Professor of Philosophy at ISU. He was instrumental to the survival and growth of the Philosophy Program from the 1960s until his retirement in 1994.

“We are so pleased to be able to award these scholarships,” says Jim Skidmore, Director of Philosophy. “It’s great to be able to support dedicated, talented students, like Maddie and Dylan, and it’s such a great way to honor Bill and Carl, who both made such important contributions to our program over so many years.”

More information about these scholarships, and about the Philosophy Program at ISU, is available at www.isu.edu/philosophy.


College of Arts and LettersUniversity News