facebook pixel Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Family Medicine Residents Receive Idaho Medical Association Awards

June 28, 2021

Four members of the Department of Family Medicine were honored with 2021 Idaho Medical Association Foundation Future Physicians of Idaho Awards.  

Two new interns, who begin work this summer, Dr. Nick Henrie and Dr. James Petersen, received the award. Additionally, two 2021 graduates, Dr. Daniel Sterner and Dr. Chance Christensen were chosen. 

Each applicant was evaluated for their Idaho roots, documented commitment to return to Idaho to practice family medicine in rural and underserved areas and a personal statement.  

Earlier this year, the Idaho Medical Association Foundation announced it would be making six individual awards in the amount of $5,000 each to medical students and residents, with preference for applications with strong connections to Idaho and based upon specific criteria.

 IMA Foundation President Keith Davis, MD and the members of the IMA Foundation Board said "This year there were extremely well-qualified applicants and competition was fierce. In fact, the Foundation Board ultimately decided to offer three additional $5,000 award to applicants for a total of nine award recipients (five medical students and four residents)."



University News