Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

ISU will confer 2,437 degrees and certificates at 2017 commencement on May 6

April 27, 2017

A photo of the large flag at Holt Arena hanging down over commencement participants
A scene from 2016 commencement.

POCATELLO – A total of 2,313 graduates will receive 2,437 degrees and certificates during Idaho State University’s spring commencement ceremonies, which will begin at 10 a.m. May 6 in Holt Arena.

One hundred nineteen students will receive multiple certificates and/or degrees.

In addition to the presentation of these degrees and certificates, three distinguished faculty members will be acknowledged, 11 alumni will be recognized for their professional achievement, and 12 outstanding students will be recognized.

The breakdown of graduates includes 37 Doctor of Philosophy degrees, six Doctor of Education degrees, five Doctor of Arts degrees, four Doctor of Audiology degrees, 11 Doctor of Nursing Practice degrees, 23 Doctor of Physical Therapy degrees, 85 Doctor of Pharmacy degrees, seven Educational Specialist degrees, 387 master’s degrees, 32 certificates, 1,201 bachelor’s degrees, 408 associate degrees, and 231 certificates from the College of Technology.

Faculty members to be recognized with Distinguished Teacher, Service and Researcher awards will be announced.

Alumni Professional Achievement Award recipients for 2017 are:  David “Chris” Carlson, from Medimont, College of Arts and Letters ­– Fine Arts and Humanities; Dr. Paul M. Miller, Somerset, New Jersey, College of Arts and Letters – Social and Behavioral Sciences; Galo Medina, Hollywood, California, College of Arts and Letters – General Studies; Gary L. Long, Inkom, College of Science and Engineering – Natural and Physical Sciences; Hernan R. Rendon, Turmero Aragua, Venezuela, College of Technology; Jack Walker, Grand Junction, Colorado, College of Pharmacy; Laura Lou Hill, Garden City, College of Education; M. Michele Pond-Bell, Pocatello, Nursing; Mindy Stosich-Benedett, Pocatello, Kasiska Division of Health Sciences; Reed N. Brimhall, Meridian, College of Business; and Robert D. Boston, Blackfoot, College of Science and Engineering – Engineering.

Outstanding Student Award recipients for 2017 are Krystal Noelle Scott, from Rupert, College of Business; Claire Jorgensen, Boise, College of Education; Sabrina J Sherwood, Boise, College of Pharmacy; Cierra Meiline Johns, Pocatello, College of Technology; Kylle Strunk, Nampa, College of Arts and Letters – Fine Arts and Humanities; Ashley Tailor Sondag, Casper, Wyoming, College of Arts and Letters – Social and Behavioral Sciences; Andrew Kaler, Camas, Washington, College of Science and Engineering – Engineering; Pamela S. Ropski, Meridian, College of Science and Engineering – Natural and Physical Sciences; Natalie Rene Slagowski, Meridian, Kasiska Division of Health Sciences; Emily M. Holcomb, Wilder, School of Nursing; Jenifer Reader, Pocatello, Master’s Candidate; and Jeffrey Garn Howard, Kuna, Doctoral Candidate.

ISU student Marissa Dyer will perform the national anthem. The faculty mace will be placed by the 2017 Distinguished Teacher.  Kebai Bills, president of the ISU Alumni Association, will welcome alumni. The institutional reader is Tim Richardson.

Idaho State University President Arthur C. Vailas will greet the audience and confer the degrees. ISU Executive Vice President and Provost for academic affairs Laura Woodworth-Ney will recognize the distinguished faculty. Associated Students of ISU President Makayla Muir will deliver remarks. Presentation of graduates will be by the University deans.

The “Alma Mater Hymn” will be performed by an ISU Department of Music student ensemble.

A reception for graduates and their guests will follow the ceremony on the floor of Holt Arena. Interpreting service for people with hearing disabilities will be provided by the Idaho State University Disabilities Services.

Graduates are encouraged to share their memories on social media at #isugrads.

More information on commencement is available online at