facebook pixel Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Idaho State University will confer 2,538 degrees and certificates at 2016 Commencement on May 7

April 26, 2016

POCATELLO – A total of 2,411 graduates will receive 2,538 degrees and certificates during Idaho State University’s spring commencement ceremonies, which will begin at 10 a.m. May 7 in Holt Arena. One hundred twenty-three students will receive multiple certificates and/or degrees.

In addition to the presentation of these degrees and certificates, three distinguished faculty members will be acknowledged, 10 alumni will be recognized for their professional achievement, and 12 outstanding students will be recognized.

The breakdown of graduates includes 31 Doctor of Philosophy degrees, seven Doctor of Education degrees, seven Doctor of Arts degrees, 11 Doctor of Audiology degrees, eight Doctor of Nursing Practice degrees, 24 Doctor of Physical Therapy degrees, 83 Doctor of Pharmacy degrees, nine Educational Specialist degrees, 391 master’s degrees, six Graduate School certificates, 1,312 bachelor’s degrees, 428 associate degrees, and 221 certificates from the College of Technology.

Faculty members to be recognized with Distinguished Teacher, Service and Researcher awards will be announced.

Alumni Professional Achievement Award recipients for 2016 are: Diane Bilyeu, from Pocatello, College of Arts and Letters – Humanities; Susan M. Bistline, Boise, College of Health Sciences – Dental Hygiene; Kory Brown, Puyallup, Washington, College of Business; Jeffrey Geslin, Houston, College of Science and Engineering–Engineering; J. Mitchell Greer, Pocatello, College of Science and Engineering– Engineering; Judge Samuel A. Hoagland, Boise, College of Pharmacy; Mary Ellen Kelly, North Platte, Nebraska, School of Nursing; Dani Moffit, Pocatello, College of Education– Sports Science and Physical Education; Thomas L. Purce,  Olympia, Washington, College of Arts and Letters – Social and Behavioral Science; John Ritchie, Sherwood, Oregon, College of Technology – Electronic Technologies. 

Outstanding Student Award recipients for 2016 are Jenna L. Larson, St. Anthony, College of Business; Hope Elizabeth Gibson, Twin Falls, College of Education; Michelle Wilkin, Ontario, Oregon, College of Pharmacy; Chandra A. Price, Emmett, College of Technology; Katie M. Nicholls, Boise, College of Arts and Letters – Fine Arts and Humanities; Laticia Joyce Herkshan, Madras, Oregon and Pocatello, College of Arts and Letters – Social and Behavioral Science; Emerald Dawn Ryan, Pocatello, College of Science and Engineering – Engineering; Christian T. Borg, Logan, Utah, College of Science and Engineering – Natural and Physical Sciences; Jordan Withers, Boise, Division of Health Sciences; Danielle Zander, Soda Springs, School of Nursing; Amanda Poitevin, Idaho Falls, graduate school–master’s candidate; and Deepesh Poudel, an international student from Baglung, Nepal, graduate school–doctoral candidate.

ISU student Kiya Fife will perform the national anthem. The faculty mace will be placed by the 2016 Distinguished Teacher.  Kebai Bills, president of the ISU Alumni Association, will welcome alumni. The institutional reader is Tim Richardson.

Idaho State University President Arthur C. Vailas will greet the audience and confer the degrees. ISU Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Laura Woodworth-Ney will recognize the distinguished faculty. Associated Students of ISU President Mackenzie Smith will deliver remarks. Presentation of graduates will be by the University deans.

The “Alma Mater Hymn” will be performed by an ISU Department of Music student ensemble.

A reception for graduates and their guests will follow the ceremony on the floor of Holt Arena. Interpreting service for people with hearing disabilities will be provided by the Idaho State University Disabilities Services.

Graduates are encouraged to share their memories on social media at #isugrads.

More information on commencement is available online at http://isu.edu/commencement/.