Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

ISU conferred 2,538 degrees and certificates at 2016 commencement on May 7

May 9, 2016

POCATELLO – A total of 2,411 graduates received 2,538 degrees and certificates during Idaho State University’s spring commencement ceremonies on May 7 in Holt Arena.

 ISU conferred 2,538 degrees and certificates at 2016 commencement on May 7

One hundred twenty-three students received multiple certificates and/or degrees.

In addition to the presentation of these degrees and certificates, three distinguished faculty members were acknowledged, 10 alumni were recognized for their professional achievement, and 12 outstanding students were recognized.

The breakdown of graduates included 31 Doctor of Philosophy degrees, seven Doctor of Education degrees, seven Doctor of Arts degrees, 11 Doctor of Audiology degrees, eight Doctor of Nursing Practice degrees, 24 Doctor of Physical Therapy degrees, 83 Doctor of Pharmacy degrees, nine Educational Specialist degrees, 391 master’s degrees, six Graduate School certificates, 1,312 bachelor’s degrees, 428 associate degrees, and 221 certificates from the College of Technology.

Addressing the graduates, ASISU Student Body President Mackenzie Smith told the graduates their future was bright.

“It's never too late to be whoever you want to be,” she said.

Faculty members recognized for distinguished service by ISU Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Laura Woodworth-Ney were Michele Brumley, assistant professor of psychology, Distinguished Teacher; Kim Jardine-Dickerson, clinical assistant professor and interim associate director, School of Nursing, Distinguished Service Award; and Jennifer Attebery, professor of English and chair of the Department of English and Philosophy, Distinguished Researcher.

Alumni Professional Achievement Award recipients for 2016 are: Diane Bilyeu, from Pocatello, College of Arts and Letters – Humanities; Susan M. Bistline, Boise, College of Health Sciences – Dental Hygiene; Kory Brown, Puyallup, Washington, College of Business; Jeffrey Geslin, Houston, College of Science and Engineering–Engineering; J. Mitchell Greer, Pocatello, College of Science and Engineering– Engineering; Judge Samuel A. Hoagland, Boise, College of Pharmacy; Mary Ellen Kelly, North Platte, Nebraska, School of Nursing; Dani Moffit, Pocatello, College of Education– Sports Science and Physical Education; Thomas L. Purce,  Olympia, Washington, College of Arts and Letters – Social and Behavioral Science; John Ritchie, Sherwood, Oregon, College of Technology – Electronic Technologies. 

Outstanding Student Award recipients for 2016 are Jenna L. Larson, St. Anthony, College of Business; Hope Elizabeth Gibson, Twin Falls, College of Education; Michelle Wilkin, Ontario, Oregon, College of Pharmacy; Chandra A. Price, Emmett, College of Technology; Katie M. Nicholls, Boise, College of Arts and Letters – Fine Arts and Humanities; Laticia Joyce Herkshan, Madras, Oregon and Pocatello, College of Arts and Letters – Social and Behavioral Science; Emerald Dawn Ryan, Pocatello, College of Science and Engineering – Engineering; Christian T. Borg, Logan, Utah, College of Science and Engineering – Natural and Physical Sciences; Jordan Withers, Boise, Division of Health Sciences; Danielle Zander, Soda Springs, School of Nursing; Amanda Poitevin, Idaho Falls, graduate school–master’s candidate; and Deepesh Poudel, an international student from Baglung, Nepal, graduate school–doctoral candidate.

ISU student Kiya Fife performed the national anthem. Kebai Bills, president of the ISU Alumni Association, welcomed alumni. The institutional reader was Tim Richardson.

Idaho State University President Arthur C. Vailas greeted the audience and conferred the degrees. Associated Students of ISU President Mackenzie Smith delivered remarks. The “Alma Mater Hymn” was performed by an ISU Department of Music student ensemble.

Graduates are encouraged to share their memories on social media at #isugrads.

More information on commencement is available online at