facebook pixel Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Idaho State University Foundation names new board members

September 29, 2014
ISU Marketing and Communications

The Idaho State University Foundation announced the addition of three new board members during its annual meeting on the University’s Pocatello campus on Friday, Sept. 26: Michael J. Byrne, ’73 and ’75; Valerie Hoybjerg; and Thana Singarajah, ’84 and ’88.

A retired partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers, Byrne earned both his undergraduate accounting and Master of Business Administration degrees from ISU. He is the 1990 recipient of the ISU College of Business Professional Achievement Award, the 2002 recipient of the ISU President’s Medallion and the 2007 recipient of the ISU Distinguished Alumnus Award. A previous member, former president and chair of the ISU Foundation Board, he is a generous supporter of University athletics, scholarships and the L.E. and Thelma E. Stephens Performing Arts Center.

Hoyberg and her husband own John Deere dealerships in American Falls and Twin Falls. She has served in the community as a county commissioner; president of the Idaho Association of County Commissioners and Clerks; member of the Drug Court Coordinating Committee; chairman of the Board of Idaho Juvenile Corrections under the past three governors; Interagency Council on Substance Use Disorder and Treatment; member of the Board of Health for Southeast Idaho; and others. Currently she serves on the Custody Review Board for the Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections. The mother of an ISU graduate, Hoyberg and her husband are generous supporters of the University’s annual “I Love ISU” scholarship campaign and the L.E. and Thelma E. Stephens Performing Arts Center.

Singarajah is a clinical assistant professor and the director of professional development in the department of counseling at ISU. He also manages the Pearl Health Clinic, an Idaho State University affiliate clinic. He received both his master’s and doctoral degrees in counseling from ISU. A dedicated adolescent counseling advocate, Singarajah founded three shelters in Idaho Falls. He also founded Family Care Center, the largest mental health care agency in Idaho, later donating it to the community. He is the recipient of the Governor’s “Brightest Star of Idaho” award and the Eastern Idaho United Way Council’s highest award for community leadership.

“Each of these individuals brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to the Board,” said ISU Vice President for Advancement Kent Tingey. “We look forward to working together as we continue our efforts to provide support for this great institution.”

The Board also recognized the efforts of three retiring board members, John Evans, Jr.; Bill Eames, ’57; and Anne S. Voilleque, ’88, during the meeting. Eames was a former board president and chair.

“We are so grateful for their dedicated service to the Foundation Board. They have given of their time and treasure to support our beloved University,” said Arlo Luke, president of the ISU Foundation.

The Idaho State University Foundation is a nonprofit organization that raises and manages private resources, which support the mission of Idaho State University.


University News