facebook pixel Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Idaho State University confers 2,476 degrees, certificates at 2013 Commencement on May 11

May 3, 2013
ISU Marketing and Communications

A total of 2,364 graduates received 2,476 degrees and certificates during Idaho State University's spring commencement ceremonies on May 11 in Holt Arena.

One hundred six students received multiple certificates and/or degrees.

In addition to the presentation of these degrees and certificates, three distinguished faculty members were acknowledged, 10 alumni were recognized for their professional achievement, and 13 outstanding students were recognized.

The breakdown of graduates included 37 Doctor of Philosophy degrees, nine Doctor of Education degrees, three Doctor of Arts degrees, five Doctor of Audiology degrees, 29 Doctor of Physical Therapy degrees, 85 Doctor of Pharmacy degrees, 12 Educational Specialist degrees, 471 master's degrees, 10 Graduate School certificates, 1,251 bachelor's degrees, 347 associate degrees, and 217 certificates from the College of Technology.

Faculty members recognized for distinguished service were Donna Lybecker, associate professor political science, Distinguished Teacher; Scott Anderson, professor of music, Distinguished Service Award; and Bruce Finney, professor of biological sciences, Distinguished Researcher.

Ten alumni were honored with ISU 2013 Professional Achievement Awards from their respective colleges and divisions, and the Idaho State University Office of Alumni Relations and the ISU Alumni Association. They were Richard Ardinger, Boise, College of Arts and Letters, Fine Arts and Humanities; Col. F. Paul Briggs, Alexandria, Va., College of Arts and Letters, Social and Behavioral Sciences; Blaine Dee Nisson, Green Valley, Ariz., College of Education; Dennis Keith Poulton, Orange, Calif., College of Science and Engineering, Engineering; Thomas Ioerger, Boulder City, Nev., College of Science and Engineering, Natural and Physical Science; Anita Herzog, Washington, Utah, Division of Health Sciences; LuAnn Storm Howe, Sacramento, Calif., Division of Health Sciences School of Nursing; H. Eric Cannon, Salt Lake City, College of Pharmacy; Phil J. "Jake" Jones, Twin Falls, College of Business; and Robert Dunkley, Idaho Falls, College of Technology.

Outstanding Student Award recipients for 2013 were: Ariel J. McKay, from Kimberly, Division of Health Sciences; Kinta M. Serve, Fort Worth, Texas, Graduate School – Doctoral Recipient; Nancy L. Sherrill, Boulder, Colo., Graduate School – Masters Recipient; Alexa B. Goff, Soda Springs, College of Arts and Letters–Fine Arts and Humanities; Steven R. Boomhower, Twin Falls, College of Arts and Letters–Social and Behavioral Sciences; Cassidy J. Fernandez, Idaho Falls, College of Business; Danielle Rae Ahlstrom, Boise, College of Pharmacy; Kole H. Spaulding, Mountain Home, College of Education; Kourtney D. Wright, Pocatello, College of Science and Engineering–Natural and Physical Sciences; Bric Davis Balmforth, Pocatello, College of Science and Engineering–Engineering; Brandalin Barnes, Chubbuck, College of Technology; and Gregory A. Fenchel, Albuquerque, N. M., School of Nursing.

Donna Lybecker, 2013 Distinguished Teacher, placed the faculty mace. Institutional reader was John Gribas, professor of communication and rhetorical studies. Deb Stone, president of the ISU Alumni Association board of directors, welcomed alumni.

Idaho State University President Arthur C. Vailas greeted the audience and conferred the degrees. ISU Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Barbara Adamcik recognized the distinguished faculty. Associated Students of ISU President Matt Bloxham delivered remarks.

Presentation of graduates was by the University deans: Kandi Turley-Ames, College of Arts and Letters; Deborah Hedeen, College of Education; Thomas Ottaway, College of Business; Linda Hatzenbuehler, executive dean, Division of Health Sciences; George Imel, College of Science and Engineering; Scott Rasmussen, College of Technology; Paul Cady, College of Pharmacy; and Nicole Hill, outdoing interim, Graduate School.

A reception for graduates and their guests followed the ceremony on the floor of Holt Arena. Interpreting service for people with hearing disabilities was provided by the Idaho State University Disabilities Services.




University News