facebook pixel Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Idaho State University confers 2,306 degrees and certificates at 2010 Commencement on May 8

May 3, 2010
ISU Marketing and Communications

A total of 2,232 graduates received 2,306 degrees and certificates during Idaho State University’s spring commencement ceremonies on May 8 in Holt Arena.

Seventy-one students received multiple certificates and/or degrees.

In addition to the presentation of these degrees and certificates, three distinguished faculty members were acknowledged, nine alumni were recognized for their professional achievement, and 11 outstanding students were recognized.The breakdown of graduates included 26 Doctor of Philosophy degrees, seven Doctor of Education degrees, 11 Doctor of Arts degrees, six Doctor of Audiology degrees, 22 Doctor of Physical Therapy degrees, 10 Educational Specialist degrees, 71 Doctor of Pharmacy degrees, 463 master’s degrees, 27 Graduate School certificates, 1,163 bachelor’s degrees, 322 associate degrees, and 178 certificates from the College of Technology.

Faculty members recognized for distinguished service were Karen Appleby, associate professor in the sport science and physical education department, Distinguished Teacher; Daniel Ames, associate professor in the Department of Geosciences, Distinguished Researcher; and Glenn Thackray, professor of geosciences, Distinguished Public Service Award.

Nine alumni were honored with professional achievement awards from their respective colleges and the Idaho State University Alumni Association. They were Terry Melton, M.F.A., Salem, Ore., College of Arts and Sciences – Fine Arts and Humanities; John Bickmore, Ph.D., Rochester, New York, College of Arts and Sciences – Natural Sciences and Mathematics; Lynn Jensen, Ph.D., Arlington Heights, Ill., College of Arts and Sciences – Social Sciences; Peter Kole, Cleveland, Ohio, College of Business; Randy Jensen, American Falls, College of Education; Curtis Smith, Ph.D., Idaho Falls, College of Engineering; Randall Steven Hudspeth, Boise, Kasiska College of Health Professions; Gary Isom, Ph.D., West Lafayette, Ind., College of Pharmacy; and Joey “Delane” Anderson, American Falls, College of Technology.

Outstanding Student Achievement Award winners honored were: Joel Sankey, of Portland, Ore., a geosciences student at ISU-Meridian, Graduate School, doctoral; Jhanyce Acosta Villa of Felt, College of Education; Katherine Eby of Bonners Ferry, College of Arts and Sciences – Natural Sciences and Mathematics; Luis Hernandez of Castelford, College of Arts and Sciences – Fine Arts and Humanities; Jessica Jensen of Twin Falls, College of Arts and Sciences – Social Sciences; Bruce D. Pierson of Kennewick, Wash., College of Engineering; Jennifer Lynn Schumaker of Culdesac, Kasiska College of Health Professions; Talia Chyree Vogler of Pendleton, Ore., College of Technology; Dmitry Beresnev from St. Petersburg, Russia, College of Business; Anne Catherine Vest of Pocatello, Graduate School, Master’s Degree; and Jamie Ridley Klucken of Jerome, MBA and Doctor of Pharmacy, College of Pharmacy.

The Portneuf Brass performed prelude music, the processional and the recessional. The Portneuf Brass is comprised of Randy Earles, music department chair, trumpet; Tom Banyas, adjunct faculty, trumpet; Michael Helman, French horn; Patrick Brooks, director of ISU Bands, music professor, trombone; and McKenna Nilsson, adjunct faculty, tuba.

Rachel Sparrow, a soprano music student in the class of 2010, performed the national anthem. The Class of 2010 Octet, directed by ISU director of Choral Activities Scott Anderson, sang the “Alma Mater Hymn.”

Alan Frantz, Ph.D., chair of the Faculty Senate, placed the faculty mace. Institutional reader was Steve Cannon. Ted Messmore, president of the ISU Alumni Association, welcomed alumni.

Idaho State University President Arthur C. Vailas, Ph.D., greeted the audience and conferred the degrees. ISU Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Gary A. Olson, Ph.D., recognized the distinguished faculty. Associated Students of ISU President Ross Knight delivered remarks.

Presentation of graduates was by the University deans: Scott S. Hughes, Ph.D., College of Arts and Sciences, interim dean; Deborah Hedeen, Ph.D., College of Education; Kenneth A. Smith, Ph.D., College of Business; Stephen Feit, Ph.D., Kasiska College of Health Professions, interim dean; Richard Jacobsen, Ph.D., College of Engineering; Marilyn Davis, Ed.D., College of Technology; Paul Cady, Pharm.D., College of Pharmacy, interim dean; and Thomas Jackson, Ph.D., Graduate School.

A reception for graduates and their guests will followed the ceremony on the floor of Holt Arena. Interpreting service for people with hearing disabilities was provided by the ADA and Disabilities Resource Center.


About Idaho State University

Idaho State University, a Carnegie-classified doctoral research institution founded in 1901, educates approximately 15,000 students per year in more than 280 programs. It is Idaho’s lead institution in health professions and medical education. Its seven colleges engage in a broad range of innovative research, teaching, and learning in the natural and physical sciences, humanities, performing and visual arts, education, engineering, business, pharmacy, and technology. Visit ISU today at www.isu.edu.


University News