facebook pixel Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

ISU Distinguished Faculty nominations due Jan. 30

January 23, 2009
ISU Marketing and Communications

Nominations are being sought for two Idaho State University faculty members to be honored at May 2009 commencement exercises. To be selected are the recipients of the Distinguished Teacher and the Distinguished Public Service Awards.

A third faculty member will be chosen as Distinguished Researcher by a different process. The three winners will receive certificates and cash awards at commencement.

Nominations for the two awards are now being accepted through Jan. 30.

Candidates for Distinguished Teacher, chosen solely on the basis of teaching expertise, must be nominated by members from at least two groups: students, faculty, staff or alumni.   

Candidates for the Distinguished Public Service Award may be nominated by one or more groups from students, faculty, staff or the public. This award is based solely on public service activities.

Chairing the committees are Habib Sadid, Ph.D., professor of engineering, Public Service Award; Kandi Turley-Ames, Ph.D., professor and chair of psychology, Distinguished Teacher; and Dr. Rajendra Bajracharya, assistant professor and coordinator of geomatics technology, Distinguished Researcher.

A nominee must be a member of the ISU faculty currently in the third or subsequent year of full-time service at ISU and planning to continue as a member of the University faculty in 2009-2010. Up to five finalists in each category will be honored at a banquet.

Nomination forms for the Distinguished Teacher and Distinguished Public Service Award may be obtained from and returned to Lisa Jensen, Office of Academic Affairs, Administration Building, Room 264, ISU Stop 8063, Pocatello, Idaho, 83209, phone (208) 282-2362; the offices of the academic deans; ISU offices in Idaho Falls, Boise, and Twin Falls; the Eli M. Oboler Library information desk; the Student Union and Rendezvous information desks; the College of Technology cafeteria in the Roy F. Christensen Building; or the ISU home page: http://www.isu.edu/acadaff/awards. Nominations also may be sent by e-mail to acadvp@isu.edu. Further information may be obtained by calling Jensen at (208) 282-2362.

Information on the procedure for selecting the Distinguished Researcher may be obtained from the Office of Research, ISU Stop 8130, Pocatello, Idaho, 83209, telephone (208) 282-2179.


University News