facebook pixel Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

ISU College of Technology faculty and staff honored

May 11, 2009
ISU Marketing and Communications

The Idaho State University College of Technology recently recognized staff, faculty and community honorees during a recognition reception.

Honorees are: 

Outstanding Faculty Achievement Award Recipients –  Bobbi Fitch and Jeri Spinner

Each year the College of Technology recognizes two faculty members for their outstanding efforts as instructors, student advocates, professionals, and colleagues.

Fitch, an Advanced Instructor and Program Coordinator in the Cosmetology program was recognized for her excellent rapport with her students. As stated by her nominator, “Bobbi serves as a role model.  She is always professional and conveys the importance of professionalism in every aspect of the cosmetology field.  Furthermore, she is responsible for the Wigs on Loan program that assists individuals in the community that have lost their hair due to medical reasons.  Bobbi exemplifies the high qualifications that are required for this award,”

Spinner is an Assistant Professor in the Business Information program.  Her nomination read, “Jerri exemplifies integrity, courtesy, and professionalism at all times and in all places.  In addition to her regular teaching duties, Jeri volunteered and presented several very popular workshops in Excel and Word during Employee Recognition Week.  She has served on numerous committees within the University, College, and Business Information program.  She is currently the faculty representative on the ISU Foundation Board.  Jeri has proven herself to be very capable, calm in handling stressful situations, and is always courteous and respectful towards the students and her peers.”

Outstanding Community Partner Award Recipient – Vern Porter, General Manager for Power Generation, Idaho Power

The Outstanding Community Partner award was developed to recognize people in the community that give unselfishly of their time and energy to support programs at the College of Technology..  <>Porter was instrumental in the creation and development of the Energy Systems Technology and Education Center (ESTEC) and has been involved with ESTEC since the grant was received.

During the creation of the ESTEC program, Vern was actively involved in curriculum development. He continually assists in facilitating donations of equipment and scholarship dollars. He has served as the Chair of the Advisory Council for ESTEC for the last three years, overseeing the Communications and Public Relations and Marketing subcommittees. Vern is very influential in bringing in new industries to the council which has resulted in donations both in cash and gifts-in-kind.  In addition, Vern sponsors an Energy Camp in the summer in the Boise area.

He is a strong proponent of the ESTEC program as well as the energy sector of the workforce.  His commitment to his profession is illustrated in the amount of time and money he has provided to the ESTEC program.  He is very enthusiastic about what he does and promotes the College of Technology on a regular basis.

Professional Achievement Award Recipient – John Kunze, Service Engineer, Boeing Corporation

Kunze was named the 2009 College of Technology Professional Achievement Award recipient.  He graduated from the College of Technology in 1982 with a certificate in Aircraft Maintenance and in 1987 received a Bachelor’s degree in Engineering, also from ISU. He has had an impressive career working for companies such as McDonnell-Douglas Corporation, Valberg Corporation and now the Boeing Corporation. 

John travels the World troubleshooting and developing repair plans for Boeing’s 707, 727, 757 and 737NG airplanes. He attributes his success to the diverse education he received in aircraft maintenance and structural engineering.  In 1999, he presented at a conference entitled “Bridging the Gap,” in which he demonstrated the importance of both engineers and technicians and how they should respect the contributions of each in the workforce.

Staff Excellence Award Recipients – Angela Askey and Dale Talbert

The Staff Excellence Award was developed three years ago to recognize classified and non-classified staff members for their quality of work, proficiency and initiative, skills in dealing with people, dependability and creativity, as well as the ability to relate to others in a manner that reflects well upon the College of Technology.

Askey is the Community Relations Specialist for the College of Technology.  She was nominated by co-worker Debbie Ronneburg who commented, “Angela’s enthusiasm and “can do” attitude inspire the College of Technology team to feel they can achieve their goals and objectives.  She creates a supportive and enjoyable work environment.  She maintains a positive attitude even in tough situations and her positive attitude helps increase morale.”  Angela also serves as the ISU Rodeo Team Advisor.

Talbert is an IT Information Systems Technician in Computer Technical Support and has been at the College for more than eight years. Steve Clay, Computerized Machining Instructor nominated him, stating, “Dale is always cheerful and willing to help any time he is asked. He generally either has a solution or knows where to go to look for one and is always upbeat about getting any problem solved rapidly.  Dale is easy to know and work with. His positive outlook is contagious and inspiring.”

To conclude the awards presentation, faculty receiving promotions were recognized and years of service awards were given to faculty and staff:


Bryan Barclay promoted to advanced instructor.

Kathy Buffaloe promoted to advanced instructor.

Weldon Hill promoted to senoir instructor.

Wade Lowry promoted to advanced instructor.

Karla Stroud promoted to assistant professor.


Five years

Angela Askey, community relations

10 years

Diane Allen, General Education – Basic

Kathy Buffaloe, Laser/Electro-Optics Program

Kay Christensen, Business & Service Department

Mike Fisher, Automotive Technology Program

Steve Larson, Electronic Systems Program

Amy O-Neil, Graphic Arts/Printing Technology

Gary Shipley, Aircraft Maintenance Program

15 years

Paula Baugh, Health Occupations Department

Jeanne Blank, Student Services

Susanne Shatto, Resource Center

20 years

Pam Edwards, Student Services

Perry McElprang, Computer Technology Support

Randy Humpherys, Welding Program

Pat Packer, General Education – Basic

25 years

Linda Dahlquist, Automotive Technology Program


University News