facebook pixel Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Idaho State University confers 2,407 degrees/certificates at 2009 commencement on May 9

May 1, 2009
ISU Marketing and Communications

A total of 2,318 graduates received 2,407 degrees and certificates during Idaho State University’s spring commencement ceremonies held May 9 in Holt Arena.

Eighty-five students received multiple certificates and/or degrees.

In addition to the presentation of these degrees and certificates, three distinguished faculty members were acknowledged, nine alumni were recognized for their professional achievement and 11 outstanding students were recognized.

The breakdown of graduates included 24 Doctor of Philosophy degrees, nine Doctor of Education degrees, 11 Doctor of Arts degrees, four Doctor of Audiology degrees, 26 Doctor of Physical Therapy degrees, 30 Educational Specialist degrees, 73 Doctor of Pharmacy degrees, 450 master’s degrees, 12 Graduate School certificates, 1,213 bachelor’s degrees, 351 associate degrees and 204 certificates from the College of Technology.

Faculty members recognized for distinguished service were James Aho, professor of sociology, Distinguished Teacher; Cynthia D. Hill, interim director of the Center for Teaching and Learning and economics professor, Distinguished Public Service Award; and Russell Wahl, professor and director of the philosophy program, Distinguished Researcher.

Nine alumni were honored with professional achievement awards from their respective colleges and the Idaho State University Alumni Association. They were Jackie Rivét-River, Chicago, Ill., College of Arts and Sciences – Fine Arts and Humanities; Michele Hentges, Woodland Hills, Calif., College of Arts and Sciences – Natural Sciences and Mathematics; Sharon Gardner, Yuma, Ariz., College of Arts and Sciences – Social Sciences; Miriam Hammond, Henderson, Nev., College of Business; Patricia Farmer, Pocatello, College of Education; Robert K. Wilson, Sandy, Utah, College of Engineering; Rebecca Logue, Boise, Kasiska College of Health Professions; Richard Fuchs, Twin Falls, College of Pharmacy; and John Kunze, Maple Valley, Wash., College of Technology.

Outstanding Student Achievement Award winners honored were: Sheel Bansal, of Hartford, Conn., Graduate School, doctoral; Kelsey A. Lester of Pocatello, College of Education; Whitney Call Pollard of Pocatello, College of Arts and Sciences – Natural Sciences and Mathematics; Sterling C. Mennear of Pocatello, College of Arts and Sciences – Fine Arts and Humanities; Maureen Kelly McGuire of Pocatello, College of Arts and Sciences – Social Sciences; Daniel A. Jones of Blackfoot, College of Engineering; Heidi Hancock Tanner of Rigby, Kasiska College of Health Professions; Andrew B. Adcock of Pocatello, College of Technology; Derek B. Moss of Declo, College of Business; Aynur Gojayeva of Baku, Azerbaijan, Graduate School, Master’s Degree; and Kimberly A. Van Wyk of Idaho Falls, College of Pharmacy.    

The Portneuf Brass performed prelude music, the processional and the recessional. The Portneuf Brass is comprised of Randy Earles, music department chair, trumpet; Tom Banyas, adjunct faculty, trumpet; Michael Helman, French horn; Patrick Brooks, director of ISU Bands, music professor, trombone; and McKenna Nilsson, adjunct faculty, tuba.

Tiffany Nielsen, a soprano music student in the class of 2009, performed the National Anthem. Nielsen, Kristen Allford, Siriana Christensen, Janessa Funk, Emily Johnson, Von Bringhurst, Katie Morgan and Todd Robertson, all members of the class of 2009, sung the “Alma Mater Hymn.”

Lee Krehbiel, Ph.D., vice president of student affairs, gave the invocation. David Delehanty, Ph.D., chair of the Faculty Senate, placed the faculty mace. Institutional reader was John Gribas, Ph.D., professor of communication and rhetorical studies. Ted Messmore, president-elect of the ISU Alumni Association, greeted the graduates.

Idaho State University President Arthur C. Vailas, Ph.D., greeted the audience and conferred the degrees. ISU Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Gary A. Olson, Ph.D., recognized the distinguished faculty. Associated Students of ISU President Matt Spencer, delivered remarks. James A. Aho, Ph.D., professor of sociology, social work and criminal justice and 2009 Distinguished Teacher Award recipient, also delivered remarks.

Presentation of graduates was by the University deans: Scott S. Hughes, Ph.D., College of Arts and Sciences, interim dean; Deborah Hedeen, Ph.D., College of Education; Kenneth A. Smith, Ph.D., College of Business; Linda C. Hatzenbuehler, Ph.D., Kasiska College of Health Professions; Richard Jacobsen, Ph.D., College of Engineering; Marilyn Davis, Ed.D., College of Technology; Joseph F. Steiner, Pharm.D., College of Pharmacy; and Thomas Jackson, Ph.D., Graduate School.

A reception for graduates and their guests followed the ceremony on the floor of Holt Arena. Interpreting service for people with hearing disabilities was provided by the ADA and Disabilities Resource Center.

The 2009 Commencement ceremony included graduates from the following graduation dates: August 2008, October 2008, December 2008, March 2009, May 2009 and July 2009.


University News