facebook pixel Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Idaho State University will confer 1,765 degrees and certificates at 2008 Commencement

April 28, 2008
ISU Marketing and Communications

A total of 1,670 graduates will receive 1,765 degrees and certificates during Idaho State University’s spring commencement ceremonies, which will begin at 10 a.m. May 10 in Holt Arena.

Eighty-nine students will receive multiple certificates and/or degrees.

In addition to the presentation of these degrees and certificates, three distinguished faculty members will be acknowledged, nine alumni will be recognized for their professional achievement and 11 outstanding students will be recognized.

The breakdown of graduates includes 19 Doctor of Philosophy degrees, four Doctor of Education degrees, six Doctor of Arts degrees, two Doctor of Audiology degrees, 19 Doctor of Physical Therapy degrees, five Educational Specialist degrees, one Education Specialist sixth-year certificate, 62 Doctor of Pharmacy degrees, one post-master’s certificate in nursing, one post-baccalaureate certificate in geotechnology, one certificate in applied nuclear energy, 267 master’s degrees, 982 bachelor’s degrees, 247 associate degrees and 143 certificates from the College of Technology.

Faculty members to be recognized for distinguished service are Bethany Schultz Hurst, M.F.A., instructor, English and philosophy, Distinguished Teacher; Willis McAleese, Ph.D., chair and professor, health and nutrition sciences, Distinguished Public Service Award; and Susan Swetnam, Ph.D., professor, English and philsophy, Distinguished Researcher.

Nine alumni will be honored with professional achievement awards from their respective colleges and the Idaho State University Alumni Association. They are Robert L. Barnum, Big Rapids, Mich., College of Arts and Sciences – Fine Arts and Humanities; Roger Howard, Avon, Conn., College of Arts and Sciences – Social Sciences; Jesse Sandoval, Jr., D.O., Boise, College of Arts and Sciences – Natural Sciences and Mathematics; Julie M. Boyle, New York City, N.Y., College of Business; Billie McNabb Miller, Whittier, Calif., College of Education; Michael B. Calley, Pocatello, College of Engineering; Sharon Kujawa, Ph.D., Boston, Mass., Kasiska College of Health Professions; Marilyn M. Silcock, Inkom, Pharm.D., College of Pharmacy; and Stephanie A. Palagi, Chubbuck, College of Technology.

Outstanding Student Achievement Award winners to be honored are: Carrie Alexander-Albritton, Delavan, Ill., Graduate School, doctoral; Kasi Lee Beorchia (maiden name Sucher), Idaho Falls, College of Education; Mark Bolinger, American Falls, College of Arts and Sciences, Natural Sciences and Mathematics; Danielle Dutson, Bellevue, College of Arts and Sciences, Fine Arts and Humanities; Tonya Jacobsen, Pocatello, College of Arts and Sciences, Social Sciences; Jack Brion Kettler, Pocatello, College of Engineering; Hailey Clinger Lusk, American Falls, Kasiska College of Health Professions; Carrie Lyn McEachern, Reno, Nevada, College of Technology; Shauna Nelson, Mackay, College of Business; Debra D. Reiland (maiden name Deppert), Pekin, Ill., Graduate School, Master’s Degree; and Sharon T. Wong, Parma, College of Pharmacy.    

The Portneuf Brass will perform the processional and recessional. The Portneuf Brass is comprised of Randy Earles, D.M.A., music department chair, trumpet; Tom Banyas, adjunct faculty, trumpet; William Smith, adjunct faculty, tuba; and Aric Schneller, visiting assistant lecturer, trombone.

Four graduating choir music students – Joyce Brien, Crystal Roskelley, Malinda Philips and Mark Anderson – will perform the National Anthem and the “Alma Matter” hymn.

Lee Krehbiel, Ph.D., interim vice president of student affairs, will give invocation. John Masserini, D.M.A., chair of the Faculty Senate, will place the faculty mace. Institutional reader will be John Gribas, Ph.D., professor of communication and rhetorical studies. Ron Stephenson, president of the ISU Alumni Association, will greet the graduates.

Idaho State University President Arthur C. Vailas, Ph.D., will greet the audience and confer the degrees. ISU Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs Robert Wharton, Ph.D., will recognize the distinguished faculty. Associated Students of ISU President Jennifer Brown will deliver remarks. Presentation of graduates will be by the University deans.

Presentation of graduates will be by the University deans: Maureen Brandon, Ph.D., College of Arts and Sciences, interim dean; Deborah Hedeen, Ph.D., College of Education; Kenneth A. Smith, Ph.D., College of Business; Linda C. Hatzenbuehler, Ph.D., Kasiska College of Health Professions; Richard Jacobsen, Ph.D., College of Engineering; Marilyn Davis, Ed.D., College of Technology; Joseph F. Steiner, Ph.D., College of Pharmacy; and Thomas Jackson, Ph.D., Graduate School.

A reception for graduates and their guests will follow the ceremony on the floor of Holt Arena. Interpreting service for people with hearing disabilities will be provided by the ADA and Disability Resource Center.

The 2008 graduates include those who completed their degree works by December 2007 or May 9.


University News