facebook pixel Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Sen. Edgar Malepeai named ‘Statesman of the Year’

April 20, 2007

Pi Sigma Alpha, the political science honor society at Idaho State University, has named state Sen. Edgar Malepeai Statesman of the Year. He will be honored at a dinner at 7 p.m. April 21 in the L.E. and Thelma E. Stephens Performing Arts Center.

Malepeai (D), Pocatello, is the 28th recipient of the prestigious award, winners of which read like a Who’s Who in Idaho. Previous winners include former Idaho Governors Cecil Andrus and John Evans; U.S. Senators Larry Craig, Jim McClure and Steve Symms; Congressmen Richard Stallings and Mike Simpson; state legislators Perry Swisher, Patricia McDermott, Chick Bilyeu, and Beverly Bistline; Ninth Circuit Judge Randy B. Smith; U.S. District Judge Lynn Winmill; and Idaho Supreme Court Justice Cathy Silak.

Student members of Pi Sigma Alpha have chosen to honor Malepeai, a Highland High School government teacher, for his “exemplary leadership, commitment to civic dialogue and civility in politics, and his commitment to education, constitutional rights and liberties and protection for children and the environment,” according to Erika Christiansen, president of the honor society.

The April 21 event will feature a no-host reception a 6 p.m., with dinner following at 7 p.m. Those interested in attending the dinner can call the ISU Department of Political Science at (208) 282-2211. Tickets cost $35.


University News