Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Nominations sought for Micron Idaho Science Teacher Awards

September 7, 2007
ISU Marketing and Communications

Nominations are being requested for the 2007 Micron Outstanding Idaho Science Teacher Awards by the Department of Physics at Idaho State University.

“Science teachers, as a group, are among the most selfless, hard-working and dedicated public servants,” said Steve Shropshire, Ph.D., ISU physics professor. “These awards are a wonderful opportunity to give exceptional science teachers much-deserved recognition.”

The nomination deadline is Sept. 24.  If you know of an outstanding science teacher deserving recognition, please nominate him or her for one of these awards. The award categories are:

• Micron Outstanding Physics Teacher

• Micron Outstanding Science Teacher

Thanks to a grant from Micron Technology, each teacher selected will receive a cash award of $250 and a plaque honoring his or her commitment to science education.  Awards will be presented at the Idaho Science Teachers Association annual meeting at Capital High School in Boise on Oct. 4.

Nomination forms are available at Mail, fax, or e-mail completed nominations to Dr. Steve Shropshire, Idaho State University, Department of Physics, Campus Box 8106, Pocatello, ID 83209, fax (208) 282-4649, or e-mail:

Micron Technology Foundation, Inc., a private, non-profit organization established in 1999 with a gift from Micron Technology, Inc., is engaged in funding educational efforts and charitable activities. To learn more about the Micron Technology Foundation, visit its Web site at


University News