Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

ISU to honor faculty, staff, alumni, supporters with ’07 Homecoming awards Oct. 5

September 27, 2007
ISU Marketing and Communications

    Idaho State University will honor current and retired faculty and staff, alumni and supporters with awards during 2007 Homecoming.

    Recipients will be honored at the President's Alumni Recognition Dinner at 7 p.m. Friday, Oct. 5, at the Red Lion Hotel Pocatello, 1555 Pocatello Creek Road. A 6 p.m. reception in the Red Lion Atrium will precede the dinner. Those wishing to attend should contact the ISU Alumni Office at (208) 282-3755 by Sept. 28. The cost is $40.

    Following are the honorees and their awards:

    The Distinguished Alumnus Award recognizes exemplary professional and personal contributions resulting in national or international recognition.

    • Michael J. Byrne retired in June after 32 years with PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC). His professional experience includes serving as lead management or independent review partner for major PwC clients such as Nike, Chevron and Honeywell Aerospace. Byrne holds BBA and MBA degrees from ISU. His extensive and diverse civic and community service includes serving as president-elect of the ISU Foundation board of directors and co-chairman of the current ISU College of Business Capital Campaign. He previously received the ISU President’s Medallion and Professional Achievement Award.

    The William J. Bartz Award recognizes continued support and development of ISU through personal actions, participation in University affairs and financial support.

    • Sara Ifft and her late husband, G. Nicholas Ifft III, have served on countless committees and advisory boards at ISU. The couple funded ISU’s Ifft Leadership Awards to assist students whose academic performance limits their ability to secure scholarships but who demonstrate outstanding leadership qualities and perform community service, the Ifft Speech Communication Laboratory and many other student-centered programs at ISU. The Ifft Foundation is a major source of charitable gifts to ISU including funds for scholarships and projects in liberal arts, humanities and journalism, and has enhanced civic beautification and recreation and community organizations. The Ifft family owned and operated the Idaho State Journal for three generations.

    The ISU Achievement Award recognizes personal actions, generosity and self- sacrifice on behalf of the University by a faculty or staff member.

    • Drs. Ronald and Linda Hatzenbuehler both have long tenures on the ISU faculty, Ron for 35 years, Linda 31. Linda, whose major field is clinical psychology, has been dean of the Kasiska College of Health Professions for 21 years. She has led the development of 15 of the college’s programs. Ron, professor of history and past department chair, has published extensively on early American history, most recently the book “‘I Tremble for My Country’: Thomas Jefferson and the Virginia Gentry.”

    The ISU Distinguished Service Award recognizes ISU staff who have shown exceptional loyalty to the University through an extended period of employment.

    • Nancy E. and Daniel C. Anthony have lifetime associations with ISU. Both have ISU bachelor’s degrees and as undergraduates were active in campus organizations. Together they have 72 years of combined service to ISU. Nancy has worked at the Eli M.  Oboler Library since 1970 and is currently head of interlibrary loans. Dan was stores supervisor for the ISU Physical Plant for 16 years and now is in Purchasing Services as assistant director and contracts purchasing agent. The couple has been generous to ISU, supporting scholarships and most recently construction of the L.E. and Thelma E. Stephens Performing Arts Center.

    The President’s Medallion was established in 2001 to honor friends and alumni whose outstanding accomplishments and exemplary service and support bring distinction to the University and advance higher education.

    • William M. Eames graduated from ISU in pharmacy and also took business courses. He started the highly-successful Bill’s Drugs in 1959 in Lafayette, Calif. – one store grew to 24 locations before he sold the business in 1993. Since then he has been a director of three community banks that were sold to larger institutions. Eames is amember of the ISU Foundation board and annually funds a program supporting students seeking their Pharm.D. and M.B.A. simultaneously. He was one of five Foundation board members to establish an endowment to underwrite major performances in the Stephens Performing Arts Center.

    • The Honorable N. Randy Smith was recently appointed U.S. circuit judge for the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals by Pres. George W. Bush. He had previously served in the Idaho Sixth Judicial District as district judge and felony drug court judge. Smith has been ISU adjunct faculty since 1993, teaching in the Colleges of Business and Arts and Sciences. He was 2005 recipient of ISU’s Statesman of the Year award. His civic activities include two terms as president of the Idaho State Civic Symphony.

    • Louise S. Nelson and Anne S. Voillequé are Idaho Falls philanthropists who are active in community service and have a passion for helping provide all people with access to education. They jointly established ISU’s first endowed professorship, in the newly-established Native American Business Administration Program in the College of Business. The endowment also will provide valuable program support that will further enhance the students’ experience.

    Homecoming Parade marshals are ISU faculty, staff or alumni who have made a significant impact on the ISU community and enjoy popularity among their colleagues and students.

    • Dr. Angela and Philip Luckey have 68 years of service to ISU. Angela started with the College of Education in 1976 and is currently associate professor in the department of educational foundations. She has continually worked with the college’s bilingual and multicultural education programs. Phil recently retired after 40 years as ISU’s head athletic trainer. Often called ISU’s “Hall of Fame Trainer,” the former standout Bengal distance runner is a member of the ISU Sports and the Northwest Athletic Trainers Association Halls of Fame.


University News