Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Office for Research Staff

Office of the Vice President for Research

921 S. 8th Ave., Stop 8130 - Pocatello, ID 83209-8130

portrait of Donna Lybecker

Donna Lybecker

Acting Vice President for Research

Office: Administration Building, Room 106

(208) 282-2592

Dr. Donna Lybecker joins the Office for Research as Acting Vice President for Research effective July 1, 2020.  She continues to serve as the Chair of the Political Science Department.

Dr. Lybecker's research interests include the politics of borders, environmental politics in the Western U.S. and Latin America, and the framing of political issues. Her specific interests include the US-Mexico border, water issues among the Western states and more recently the role language and narratives play in policy development.

Outside of ISU, Dr. Lybecker is a member of the United States Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) National Advisory Committee, and an Associate Editor for the Social Science Journal and for the International Journal for Sustainable Society. She also works for the College Board and for the Educational Policy Improvement Center, and is on the Board of Directors for southeast Idaho’s Sagebush Steppe Land Trust.

Associate Vice President for Research Dave Rodgers

Dr. David Rodgers

Associate Vice-President for Research

Office: CAES, Room 286 - Administration Building, Room 142



Dr. David Rodgers is currently the Associate Vice-President for Research and also serves as ISU's Associate Director at the Center for Advanced Energy Studies.

As the Associate Vice-President for Research, Rodgers helps to foster a campus-wide culture of creative and scholarly research activity.  He works with OR staff to provide a variety of services to faculty and staff including seed grants, proposal development and submission, post-award accounting of research expenses, compliance with government and safety guidelines, increasing diversity in STEM fields, community outreach, and technology transfer.  The Office for Research also oversees several Research Centers and Institutes. 

The Center for Advanced Energy Studies (CAES) is a consortium involving Idaho State University, Boise State University, University of Idaho, University of Wyoming and the Idaho National Laboratory.  CAES has a new Strategic Plan whose focus is build and sustain a research collaboration ecosystem in seven energy-related disciplines: nuclear energy, advanced manufacturing, innovative energy systems, energy-water nexus, cybersecurity, energy policy, and computing/data/visualization.  CAES also occupies a building in Idaho Falls with office and laboratory space available for consortia researchers.  As one of the Associate Directors of CAES, Rodgers provides leadership on all activities that promote innovative and collaborative energy-related research.

By training a geologist who studies tectonics and mountain building, Rodgers taught earth history and processes for more than three decades to ISU graduate students, undergraduate majors, and general education students. He directed ISU's geology field camp for 15 years, developing its strong reputation and earning two Outstanding Teacher awards. Rodgers also maintained an externally-funded research program leading to 35 peer-reviewed publications and an equal number of graduate theses as lead or co-advisor. In 1994-1995 he was a Fulbright Scholar at Sultan Qaboos University (Oman) and in 2018-2019 he received a second Fulbright award to the University of Central Asia (Tajikistan).  Over the years Rodgers has served as Chair of Geosciences, as Associate Dean of the College of Science & Engineering, and as ISU Site Leader for Idaho's NSF EPSCoR MILES program.  He holds a PhD from Stanford University and a BA from Carleton College, both in geology.


Dr. Deb Easterly

Assistant Vice President for Research

Office: Business and Technology Center, Room 107


Assistant Vice President Dave Harris

Dave Harris

Assistant Vice President for Research

Office: Administration Building, Room 141



Portrait of Fred Parrish

Fred Parrish

University Business Officer

Office: Colonial Hall, Room 235


Evan Johnson

Evan Johnson

Senior Accountant

Office: Colonial Hall, Room 233


More Office for Research Staff:

Center for Advanced Energy Studies

Research Outreach and Compliance

Sponsored Programs and Support

Technology Commercialization