Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home


The Institutional Biosafety Committee, or IBC, is the ISU committee with oversight of the use of rDNA and regulated or other potentially biohazardous or infectious materials. The IBC reviews protocols for experiments or research using these biomaterials.

All research conducted at Idaho State University involving rDNA molecules must meet with current NIH Guidelines as a condition of institutional eligibility for NIH funds.

See the ISU Institutional Biosafety Committee Handbook for details of projects requiring biosafety review. 
IBC Review Inquiry Form (Complete this form if uncertain a protocol is required)

Institutional Biosafety Committee Members



Deb Easterly, Ed.D., Interim Chair Patience Ternus, Committee Coordinator
Jared Barrott, Ph.D. MS Julia Martin, Ph.D. 
Jason Werth, Lab Representative  Srinath Pashikanti, Ph.D.
Peter Sheridan, Ph.D. Tim Williams, Facilities Services (ad hoc) 
Jennifer Parrott, Biological Safety Officer David Reed, Ph.D., Non-Affiliated 
Michael Stevenson, Ph.D. Non-Affiliated Deborah Newby, Ph.D., Non-Affiliated

Protocol applications must be submitted to no later than the submission deadlines listed in Meeting Schedule below to be considered during an IBC meeting.

2022 Meeting Dates and Proposal Submission Deadlines
Submission Deadlines
Meeting Dates (Tuesdays)
January 4, 2022 January 18, 2022
February 1, 2022 February 15, 2022
March 1, 2022 March 15, 2022
April 5, 2022 April 19, 2022
September 6, 2022 September 20, 2022
October 4, 2022 October 18, 2022
November 1, 2022 November 15, 2022
December 6, 2022 December 20, 2022
Biosafety Contacts for Assistance:

Deb Easterly, EDD, IBC Chair via

Patience Ternus, IBC Committee Coordinator via

Campus Mail routing thru

Research Outreach & Compliance/IBC
Business and Technology Center
Bldg 86, Rm 107, Stop 8286

Phone: (208) 282-1232

IBC Project Application Forms

IBC Biosafety Handbook

Training for Biosafety Projects