Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

ISU Music Department Media

All videos are filmed and edited by ISU Students. All recordings are engineered and mixed by ISU Students, and are produced by Professor Jonathan Armstrong (ISU Director of Jazz Studies).

Black Rock and Sage

Black Rock and Sage is an arts journal of creative works published annually through the College of Arts and Letters at Idaho State University. As part of the journal, the ISU Department of Music produces an album of undergraduate compositions and performances.

why is everything on the floor

Composed and Performed by Jye Gardner


Composed and Performed by Orla O'Connor

Introduction and Tarantelle

Composed by Pablo de Sarasate, Performed by Bohan Hou and Natalia Lauk

Last Minute

Composed by Dallas McCrea, Performed by Dallas, Gabe Lowman, and Joseph Emmanuel

Student Artist Series

The ISU Music Student Artist Series promotes the wealth of creative talent within the Idaho State University music department. Each installment will feature a student composition for any ensemble and style of music.

A Music Box of Forgotten Dreams

Composed and Performed by Adam Merrill (BM 2019)

Faculty Artist Series

The ISU Faculty Artist Series features compositions and performances by our distinguished music faculty. 

Skip To My Hocket

Composed by Jonathan Russell and Performed by Doctor Shandra Helman (ISU Woodwind Area Coordinator) and Kimberly Fullerton (BM 2010)

Guest Artist Series

ISU’s Music department has always enjoyed bringing in guest artists for clinics and masterclasses for the benefit of our students. Now with the ISU Recording Studio, we are able to set up direct musical collaborations where our guest artists can perform and record alongside ISU students.

Street Cred

Composed by Corey Christiansen and Performed by Professor Jonathan Armstrong (ISU Director of Jazz Studies) and the following ISU jazz students:

Mal Layne (BM 2022), trombone
Jesse Malloy (BA 2021), electric guitar
Gabe Lowman (BM 2020), electric keyboard
Joseph Emmanuel (BM 2022), drum set