ISU Research Council

April 28, 2023 Official Minutes

04/28/23 1:00 PM-3:00 PM

Location: Administration Building, RM A102, Zoom

Join Zoom Meeting

https://isu.zoom.us/j/88083050233?pwd=aUpkdzg2a1ZYcGgyRjVRUHIRS2hPUT09

Meeting ID: 880 8305 0233

Passcode: 958197

Attendance: Dustin McNulty, Tyler Burch, Donna Delparte, Brandon Holst, Thom Hasenpflug

On ZOOM: Gustavo Gonzalez Cuevas, Amy Koplin, David Lawrimore

Absent but excused: Steven Lawyer, Tori Scharp

Absent: Celal Perihan

Recording Secretary: Lisa Hunt

Welcome Research Council: Dustin McNulty

Items	Presenting	Comments	Information/Action Item
Announcements:	McNulty		
Welcome new council members Elaine Nguyen and Shannon Kobs Nawotniak!			
Thank you, Gustavo Gonzalez Cuevas and Thom Hasenpflug for your outstanding service to Research Council!			
Official Meeting Minutes approval for April 14, 2023	McNulty		ACTION – minutes approved unanimously
Discussion Items:			

ISU Research Council

April 28, 2023 Official Minutes

04/28/23 1:00 PM-3:00 PM

Discussion/approval of condolences letter to non-selected Outstanding Award nominees	McNulty	RC wordsmithed this policy to be not overly detailed but still include info to help applicants understand RC's choices of Outstanding and Distinguished Researchers	McNulty will send edited letter by email from RC
Discussion of how to improve research at the university with an update on Marty Blair's input on list of priorities	Delparte	Marty Blair wants to keep striving to improve research at ISU. Areas of possible research emphasis include Ad Hoc, open access articles, equipment repair, expansion of commercialization and economic potential, research-themed social events to network with potential faculty collaborators, emphasis on the library used as a community resource, student salaries and opportunities across campus. Blair wants newly filled positions in Office for Research to address this list. Possibility of forming a subcommittee.	
Nominations for Chair and Vice Chair for next academic year • Discussion/vote	McNulty	McNulty nominated for Chair Burch nominated for Vice Chair Delparte nominated for subcommittee for R	ACTION – Thom Hasenpflug nominated Dustin McNulty and Tyler Burch as Chair and Vice Chair for next term Holst seconded Motion carried unanimously
Future Agenda Items:			,

Action Items:	Who will complete	Due date	Date completed

Next Research Council meeting: Thank you all for your service! See you next Fall!

Adjournment: 1:57p