

ISU Faculty Senate Official Minutes

Monday, October 10, 2022 4:00-6:00 p.m.

Location: Sergant Board Room, Student Union Building, Pocatello Campus

Or join via Zoom:

https://isu.zoom.us/j/83464862851?pwd=M0VqSERaQjBGZ3A0RFFiY3dWbnRMdz09

Meeting ID: 834 6486 2851

Passcode: 692492

In Attendance: Duane Rawlings, Mike Ellis, Caryn Evilia, Colden Baxter, Dustin McNulty, Spencer Jardine, Fredi Giesler, John Holmes, Dan Cravens, Neelam Sharma, Bethany Schultz-Hurst, Diane Ogiela, Dave Bagely, Ken Aho, Dan Dale, Michelle Anderson, Barbara Mason, Josh Woolstenhulme, Ryan Pitcher, Elizabeth Fore, Michael Clarke, Suzanne Beasterfield, David Hachey, Gesine Hearn

Absent But Excused: Cathy Peppers, Amanda Eller

Absent: Chad Yates

Ex-Officio: Wesley Usyak, Laura Ahola-Young, Blake Christensen, Laticia Herkshan, Jared Barrott, Kevin

Satterlee, Jenn Forshee, Valorie Martin Conley, Libby Howe, Nitin Srivastava

Recording Secretary: Ann Medinger

- 1) Chair Call Meeting to Order/Remarks
- 2) Open Forum
- 3) Approve Today's Meeting Agenda

ACTION- Baxter motioned to change order of agenda to move election ratification up to under number 6
Hearn seconded
Making Caption Unanimously

Motion Carried Unanimously

- 4) Indigenous People's Day Tribute- Dr. Laticia Herkshan
- 5) Faculty Senate Minutes Approval- September 26, 2022

ACTION- Ellis motioned to change the "where as" and add point #4 to his motion on carbon neutrality and include Dale's grammatical corrections

Motion seconded Motion carried

ACTION- Giesler has a point of order on these minutes regarding the resolution for the carbon neutral campus Vote needs to be revisited to be in accordance with the Faculty Senate Bylaws Article 6, Section 2



Issue is that Faculty Senate has not voted upon and confirmed the proposed members of the Carbon Neutral Committee created by Ellis in accordance with the bylaws

This will be addressed at the next meeting

6) Consent Agenda- Approved

a) FPPC Mtg Minutes September 21, 2022

7) Announcements

- a) Faculty Ombuds
- b) Updates on Leadership Council
- c) Dan Dale and Colden Baxter will make themselves available to visit any unit's faculty meetings
 - i) Please let them know if you would like to have them take part in the meetings/discussions as well as date and times
- d) Academic Integrity Council is being worked on
- e) We will be brining Senators into Executive Committee Meetings to discuss the evaluation process

8) Ratify New Election Results

- i) College of Pharmacy- Academic Standards Council- Jen Adams- 3- year term
- ii) CoSE- Faculty Professional Policies Council- Andy Holland
- iii) CoSE- Academic Standards Council- Carrie Bottenberg
- iv) CoSE- General Education Requirements Committee- Ana Grinath
- v) CoSE- Faculty Senate Bio/Chem/Geo- Caryn Evilia
- vi) College of Health- Faculty Professional Policies Council-
- vii) College of Health- General Education Requirements Committee-
- viii) CAL- General Education Requirements Committee- Jim Skidmore- 3-year term
- ix) CAL- Faculty Senate Representative- John Dudgeon- 1-year term

ACTION- John Holmes motioned to ratify the above election results

Baxter seconded

Motion Carried Unanimously

9) Blake Christensen

- a) 2021 HB 220 No Public Funds for Abortion
 - i) 18-8701 restricts who we can create contracts with
 - ii) 18-8705 says state funds can not be used to support abortion
 - iii) 18-8709 says we can discuss abortions and debate abortion but we can't counsel in favor of abortions
 - iv) The University and general council support the faculty on this

10) President Kevin Satterlee

- 11) Provost Report/Business- Valerie Martin Conley
- 12) University Policy Manager Update-Libby Howe
- 13) Faculty Policies Council Report- Jared Barrott/Mike Roch



14) Research Council Report- Dustin McNulty

15) Continuing Business

- a) Non-Tenure-Track Committee Update
 - i) Committee Members from last year are
 - (1) Mary Hofle- no longer on FS
 - (2) Fredi Giesler
 - (3) Neelam Sharma
 - (4) Ryan Pitcher
 - (5) Darren Leavitt- no longer on FS
 - (6) Dave Bagley
 - (7) Michelle Anderson
 - (8) Diane Ogiela
- b) Diversity, Equity, and Gender Committee- Fredi Giesler (or Laura Ahola-Young)

16) New Business

a) Faculty Evaluations

ACTION- Baxter motioned to start executive session

Aho seconded

Motion carried unanimously

17) Executive Session

- a) AAB election
 - i) Jason Q Pilarski
 - ii) Duane Rawlings

ACTION- Ellis motioned to come out of executive session

Aho seconded

Motion carried unanimously

ACTION- AAB Election

Jason Q Pilarski received 16 votes Duane Rawlings received 0 votes There were no abstentions

18) Adjournment

ACTION- Jardine motioned to adjourn

Motion seconded Motion Carried Unanimously Meeting adjourned at 5:58 pm

19) Next Faculty Senate Meeting- October 24, 2022

