

ISU Faculty Senate Official Minutes

Monday, January 9, 2023 4:00-6:00 p.m.

Location: Sergant Board Room, Student Union Building, Pocatello Campus

Or join via Zoom:

https://isu.zoom.us/j/83464862851?pwd=M0VqSERaQjBGZ3A0RFFiY3dWbnRMdz09

Meeting ID: 834 6486 2851

Passcode: 692492

In Attendance: John Holmes, Barbara Mason, Cathy Peppers, Ken Aho, Diane Ogiela, Mike Ellis, John Dudgeon, Neelam Sharma, Gesine Hearn, Bethany Schultz-Hurst, Ryan Pitcher, Chad Yates, Spencer Jardine, Caryn Evilia, Fredi Giesler, Colden Baxter, Dan Dale, Suzanne Beasterfield, Dan Cravens, Michelle Anderson, Dave Bagely

Absent But Excused: David Hachey, Michael Clarke

Absent: Amanda Eller, Duane Rawlings

Ex-Officio: Valerie Martin Conley, Wesley Usyak Veronica Garcia, Rex Force, Jasun Carr, Laura Ahola-Young,

Libby Howe, Jared Barrott

Recording Secretary: Ann Medinger

- 1) Chair Call Meeting to Order/Remarks
- 2) Reading of Tribal Land Acknowledgement- Jasun Carr
- 3) Open Forum- Jasun Carr
 - a) UCC proposal- please pass the global studies found in item 13-c of our agenda
- 4) Approve Today's Meeting Agenda

<u>ACTION-</u> Giesler motioned to add an additional person to the diversity equity and inclusion committee under continuing business as item 13.f

ACTION- Aho motioned to approve the agenda

Giesler seconded

Motioned carried unanimously

5) Faculty Senate Minutes Approval-November 28, 2022

<u>ACTION-</u> Giesler motioned to approve while correcting Fredi's last name to "ie" instead of "ei" throughout the minutes

Motion seconded

Motion carried with one abstention

6) Consent Agenda- Approved



- a) FPPC Minutes November 16, 2022
- b) FPPC Minutes November 30, 2022
- c) Research Council Minutes November 11, 2022
- d) Diversity Gender Equity Work Group Minutes November 14, 2022

7) Announcements

- a) Intention to request offices for the ombuds in the former Alumni Center (Magnuson House)
- b) Situation at North Idaho College
- c) Issues with getting updated faculty list with appropriate affiliations
- d) 2023 Spring Election process will begin in January 2023
 - i) Faculty Senate
 - (1) CAL
 - (a) Replacing Gesine Hearn- New term to end 2026
 - (b) Replacing Bethanie Schultz-Hurst- New term to end 2026
 - (2) CoSE
 - (a) Replacing Dan Dale- New term to end 2026
 - (3) College of Education
 - (a) Replacing Amanda Eller- New term to end 2026
 - (4) College of Technology
 - (a) Replacing Ryan Pitcher- New
 - (5) College of Health
 - (a) Replacing Diane Ogiela- New term to end 2026
 - (b) Replacing Chad Yates- New term to end 2026
 - (c) Replacing Dave Hachey- New term to end 2026
 - (6) Meridian at Large
 - (a) Replacing Josh Woolstenhulme- special election- New term to end 2025
 - (b) Replacing Barb Mason- New term to end 2026
 - ii) FPPC
 - (1) College of Business
 - (a) Replacing Tesa Stegner- New term to end 2026
 - (2) College of Health
 - (a) Replacing Jared Barrott-New term to end 2026
 - (3) Library
 - (a) Replacing Beth Downing- New term to end 2026
 - (4) Lecturer at Large
 - (a) New position per the bylaws- New term to end 2026
 - iii) GERC
 - (1) CAL
 - (a) Replacing Erika Fulton- New term to end 2026
 - (2) College of Education
 - (a) Replacing Shu-Yuan Lin- New term to end 2026
 - (3) CoSE
 - (a) Replacing DeWayne Derryberry- New term to end 2026
 - (4) College of Health
 - (a) Replacing Leciel Bono- New term to end 2026
 - iv) UCC
 - (1) CAL
 - (a) Replacing Carmen Febles- New term to end 2026



- (2) CoSE
 - (a) Replacing Janet Loxterman- New term to end 2026
- (3) College of Technology
 - (a) Replacing Wesley Usyak- New term to end 2026
- (4) College of Health
 - (a) Replacing LaVona Andrew- New term to end 2026
- v) Research Council
 - (1) College of Pharmacy
 - (a) Replacing Gustavo Gonzalez
- vi) Academic Standards Council
 - (1) College of Technology
 - (a) Replacing Tim Leishman- New term to end 2026
 - (2) College of Business
 - (a) Replacing Ruiling Guo- New term to end 2026
- vii) KDHS Faculty Advisory Committee
 - (1) College of Health
 - (a) Replacing Cathy
 - (b) Replacing Tori
 - (2) At Large
 - (a) Replacing JoAnn
- e) A reminder to senators that you have the opportunity to play a role in proposing agenda items to the Executive Committee.
- f) Distinguished Faculty Nominations are currently open. Please take time to thoughtfully consider worthy faculty and nominate them. All nominations are due by February 3rd, 2023.
- 8) Provost Report/Business-Valerie Martin Conley
- 9) University Policy Manager Update-Libby Howe
- 10) Faculty Policies Council Report- Jared Barrott/ Mike Roche
- 11) UCC Chair- Wesley Usyak
- 12) Rex Force- Campus Health Update

13) Continuing Business

a) ISUPP 4041- Grievance Policy- Discussion and Motion to Approve

ACTION- Giesler motioned to approve the policy

Bagely seconded

Discussion

SUBACTION- Peppers motioned that we choose, "60 days after we exhaust informal measures," which is option one as provided by the UPO and FPPC

Beasterfield seconded

Motion passed with 20 yes's 1 no 0 abstentions

- b) Summary of Data Gathered Regarding Faculty Evaluations- Dan Dale
- c) Approve UCC Minutes from October 27, 2022 section F.1 and G.2



Action- Giesler motioned to approve Baxter seconded Discussion Motion Passed Unanimously

- d) Faculty Senate Bylaws
 - i) Motion to pass suggested bylaw changes in regards to elections. (See language in Box.)

<u>ACTION-</u> Ellis motioned to take this issue off the table as it was tabled at the last faculty senate meeting Peppers seconded Discussion
Motion Carried

- e) President's Sustainability Charter- Update with Michael Ellis
- f) Approve additional member of Gender, Equity and Inclusion workgroup-Jennifer Gallup

<u>ACTION-</u> Baxter motioned to approve the new member Evilia seconded
Motion Carried Unanimously

14) New Business

- a) First Reading of Standing Appeals Panel Training
- b) Senate Apportionment

15) Adjournment

<u>ACTION-</u> Giesler motioned to adjourn Evilia seconded Motion carried unanimously

Meeting adjourned at 6:10 pm

16) Next Faculty Senate Meeting- January 30, 2022