

ISU Faculty Senate Official Minutes

Monday, January 30, 2023 4:00-6:00 p.m.

Location: Sergant Board Room, Student Union Building, Pocatello Campus

Or join via Zoom:

https://isu.zoom.us/j/83464862851?pwd=M0VqSERaQjBGZ3A0RFFiY3dWbnRMdz09

Meeting ID: 834 6486 2851

Passcode: 692492

In Attendance: Ken Aho, Mikel Ellis, Barb Mason, Dan Dale, Fredi Giesler, Cathy Peppers, Bethany Schultz-Hurst, Chad Yates, Neelam Sharma, Gesine Hearn, Ryan Pitcher, Spencer Jardine, John Dudgeon, Caryn Evilia, Colden Baxter, Diane Ogiela, Duane Rawlings, Michelle Anderson, Suzanne Beasterfield, Dave Bagley

Absent But Excused: Michael Clarke, John Holmes, Amanda Eller

Absent:

Ex-Officio: Laura Ahola-Young, Libby Howe, Jen Steele, Jared Barrot, President Kevin Satterlee, Valerie Martin Conley, Jenn Forshee, Mary Hofle, Mary Nies, Veronica Garcia,

Recording Secretary: Ann Medinger

- 1) Chair Call Meeting to Order/Remarks
- 2) Reading of Tribal Land Acknowledgement
- 3) Open Forum
- 4) Approve Today's Meeting Agenda

<u>ACTION-</u>Giesler motioned to change the next meeting date from March 13 to Feb 13
Schutz-Hurst seconded
Motion carried unanimously

5) Faculty Senate Minutes Approval- January 9, 2022

ACTION- Elis motioned to approve
Geisler seconded
Motion approved

6) Consent Agenda- Approved

- a) FPPC Minutes January 18, 2023
- b) AAB Minutes December 2022
- c) Research Council Minutes December 2, 2022
- d) Academic Standards Council December Minutes 2022



e) Academic Standards Council January Minutes 2023

7) Announcements

- a) Lisa Hunt will be starting February 6th to take Ann Medinger's place as the AA1 for Faculty Senate.
 - i) She will begin on February 6th.
- b) Distinguished Faculty Nominations will close at 5pm on Friday, February 3. Please nominate worthy candidates in Teaching, Service, and Research. To do so, you can use this link: https://www.isu.edu/academicaffairs/faculty-support/faculty-awards/
- c) 2023 Spring Election process will begin in February 2023
 - i) Official Numbers are Coming Soon
 - ii) List can also be found in box
 - iii) Faculty Senate
 - (1) CAL
 - (a) Replacing Gesine Hearn- New term to end 2026
 - (b) Replacing Bethanie Schultz-Hurst- New term to end 2026
 - (2) CoSE
 - (a) Replacing Dan Dale- New term to end 2026
 - (3) College of Education
 - (a) Replacing Amanda Eller- New term to end 2026
 - (4) College of Technology
 - (a) Replacing Ryan Pitcher- New
 - (5) College of Health
 - (a) Replacing Diane Ogiela- New term to end 2026
 - (b) Replacing Chad Yates- New term to end 2026
 - (c) Replacing Dave Hachey- New term to end 2026
 - (6) Meridian at Large
 - (a) Replacing Josh Woolstenhulme- special election- New term to end 2025
 - (b) Replacing Barb Mason- New term to end 2026
 - iv) FPPC
 - (1) College of Business
 - (a) Replacing Tesa Stegner- New term to end 2026
 - (2) College of Health
 - (a) Replacing Jared Barrott-New term to end 2026
 - (3) Library
 - (a) Replacing Beth Downing- New term to end 2026
 - (4) Lecturer at Large
 - (a) New position per the bylaws- New term to end 2026
 - v) GERC
 - (1) CAL
 - (a) Replacing Erika Fulton- New term to end 2026
 - (2) College of Education
 - (a) Replacing Shu-Yuan Lin- New term to end 2026
 - (3) CoSE
 - (a) Replacing DeWayne Derryberry- New term to end 2026
 - (4) College of Health
 - (a) Replacing Leciel Bono- New term to end 2026
 - vi) UCC
 - (1) CAL



- (a) Replacing Carmen Febles- New term to end 2026
- (2) CoSE
 - (a) Replacing Janet Loxterman- New term to end 2026
- (3) College of Technology
 - (a) Replacing Wesley Usyak- New term to end 2026
- (4) College of Health
 - (a) Replacing LaVona Andrew- New term to end 2026
- vii) Research Council
 - (1) College of Pharmacy
 - (a) Replacing Gustavo Gonzalez
- viii) Academic Standards Council
 - (1) College of Technology
 - (a) Replacing Tim Leishman-New term to end 2026
 - (2) College of Business
 - (a) Replacing Ruiling Guo- New term to end 2026
- ix) KDHS Faculty Advisory Committee
 - (1) College of Health
 - (a) Replacing Cathy
 - (b) Replacing Tori
 - (2) At Large
 - (a) Replacing JoAnn
- 8) Provost Report/Business- Valerie Martin Conley
- 9) University Policy Manager Update-Libby Howe
- 10) Faculty Policies Council Report- Jared Barrott/ Mike Roche

11) Continuing Business

a) Motion to send proposal to President Satterlee to convert the Magnuson Alumni House into the ISU Faculty Center

ACTION- Giesler motioned to send the proposal to President Satterlee

Baxter seconded

Discussion

Motion carried with 17 yes's 1 no, 1 abstention

- b) Bylaws Election Procedure Change
 - i) Motion to pass suggested bylaw changes in regards to elections. (See language in Box.)

ACTION- Giesler motioned to pass the proposed language in the bylaws

Ellis seconded

Must pass by a 2/3 vote

Current attendance at mtg = 19

2/3 of 19=13

Discussion

Motion carried unanimously



- c) Non-Tenure Track Committee Suggested Language Change for ISUPP 4050- Mary Hofle
 - i) Motion to send the proposed text to FPPC for their consideration

ACTION- Peppers motioned to send the policy to FPPC

Giesler seconded

Discussion

Submotion- Ellis motioned to amend the motion and to put the document into section III.B.4 of the current policy

Schultz-Hurst seconded

Motion carried unanimously

Motion Carried Unanimously

ACTION-Giesler motioned to change agenda items 13 b-d on the agenda to be above 13a

Hearn seconded

Motion carried unanimously

12) New Business

- a) Two Faculty Representatives for the Budget Model Advisory Group
 - i) Dr. Xin Ku
 - ii) Tyler Jepson

ACTION- Giesler motioned to approve the above names

Motion seconded

Motion carried unanimously

- b) Two Faculty Representatives for the Presidents DEI Project Charter
 - i) Fredi Giesler
 - ii) Dave Bagley

ACTION- Giesler motioned to nominate herself and Dave Bagley to serve on the DEI charter

Ellis seconded

Motion carried unanimously

- c) One Representative to Serve on Search Committee for Vice President of Student Affairs
 - i) Duane Rawlings

ACTIONS- Duane Rawlings motioned to approve himself to serve on the search committee

Giesler seconded

Motion carried unanimously

- d) Approval of ISUPP 4040- Academic Freedom Policy
 - i) Motion to approve

ACTION- Giesler motioned to approve ISUPP 4040

Baxter seconded

Discussion

Motion carried unanimously



13) Adjournment

ACTION- Giesler motioned to adjourn Motion carried unanimously Meeting adjourned at 6:14 pm

14) Next Faculty Senate Meeting-February 13, 2023