

ISU Faculty Senate Agenda

Monday, April 24, 2023 4:00-6:00 p.m.

Location: Shirley Sargent Family Boardroom, Student Union Building, Pocatello Campus

Or join via Zoom:

https://isu.zoom.us/j/83464862851?pwd=M0VqSERaQjBGZ3A0RFFiY3dWbnRMdz09

Meeting ID: 834 6486 2851

Passcode: 692492

In Attendance:

Appearing by ZOOM:

Absent but Excused:

Absent:

Ex-Officio:

Recording Secretary: Lisa Hunt

- 1) Chair Call Meeting to Order/Remarks
- 2) Reading of Tribal Land Acknowledgement
- 3) Open Forum
- 4) Approve Today's Meeting Agenda
- 5) Faculty Senate Minutes Approval April 10, 2023
- 6) Announcements (Click links below for documents)
 - a) Currently soliciting input for the President's Academic and Research Plan Project Charter send all comments to Dan Dale
 - b) Leadership Council Report Neil Tocher
 - i) Employee Engagement Survey Results
 - c) Election Results
 - i) Faculty Senate
 - (1) CAL total of 5 senators
 - (a) Continuing: Neelam Sharma, John Dudgeon, Fredi Giesler
 - (b) Newly elected: Samantha Blatt replacing Gesine Hearn and TBA Fall 2023 replacing Bethany Schultz Hurst
 - (2) College of Education total of 2 senators
 - (a) Continuing: Suzanne Beasterfield



- (b) Newly elected: Elaine Foster replacing Amanda Eller
- (3) College of Technology total of 3 senators
 - (a) Continuing: Duane Rawlings
 - (b) Replacing Michael Clarke special election New term to end 2024
 - (c) Cycling out: Ryan Pitcher
 - (d) Need to elect 1 to replace Ryan (plus Michael) New term to end 2026
- (4) KDHS total of 5 senators
 - (a) Continuing: Michelle Anderson, John Holmes
 - (b) Newly elected: TBA Fall 2023 replacing Dave Hachey, Amanda Henscheid replacing Diane Ogiela and Elizabeth Fore replacing Chad Yates
- (5) Meridian total of 2 senators
 - (a) Continuing: none
 - (b) Newly elected: David Hanneman replacing Barb Mason and Diane Ogiela replacing Josh Woolstenhulme
- (6) CoSE total of 4 senators
 - (a) Continuing: Caryn Evilia, Colden Baxter, Ken Aho, Mikle Ellis
- (7) College of Business total of 2 senators
 - (a) Continuing: Dan Cravens, Dave Bagley
- (8) Library total of 1 senator
 - (a) Continuing: Spencer Jardine
- (9) Idaho Falls total of 1 senator
 - (a) Continuing: None
 - (b) Newly elected: Daniel LaBrier replacing Cathy Peppers
- ii) ASC Academic Standards Council
 - (1) College of Technology
 - (a) Replacing Tim Leishman New term to end 2026
 - (2) College of Business
 - (a) Replacing Ruiling Guo New term to end 2026
 - (3) College of Education
 - (a) Replacing John Fitzpatrick special election New term to end 2025
- iii) FPPC Faculty Professional Policies Council
 - (1) College of Business
 - (a) Replacing Tesa Stegner New term to end 2026
 - (2) College of Health
 - (a) Replacing Jared Barrott New term to end 2026
 - (3) Library
 - (a) Newly elected: Karl Bridges replacing Beth Downing
 - (4) Lecturer-At-Large
 - (a) New position per the By-laws New term to end 2026
- iv) RC Research Council
 - (1) College of Pharmacy
 - (a) Replacing Gustavo Gonzalez-Cuevas New term to end 2026
 - (2) College of Technology
 - (a) Replacing Amy Koplin New term to end 2026
 - (3) Distinguished Researcher
- v) GERC General Education Requirements Council
 - (1) CAL
 - (a) Newly elected: Edward Kammerer replacing Erika Fulton



- (2) College of Education
 - (a) Replacing Shu-Yuan Lin New term to end 2026
- (3) CoSE
 - (a) Replacing DeWayne Derryberry New term to end 2026
- (4) College of Health
 - (a) Newly elected: TBA Fall 2023 replacing Leciel Bono
 - (b) Replacing Omotayo Omotowa special election New term to end 2025
- (5) College of Tech
 - (a) Replacing Mike Matusek special election New term to end 2025
- (6) Library
 - (a) Newly elected: Kimberly Miller replacing Cathy Gray
- vi) UCC Undergraduate Curriculum Council
 - (1) CAL
 - (a) Newly elected: Jessica Winston replacing Carmen Febles
 - (2) CoSE
 - (a) Replacing Janet Loxterman New term to end 2026
 - (3) College of Technology
 - (a) Replacing Wesley Usyak New term to end 2026
 - (b) Replacing John Baker special election New term to end 2025
 - (4) College of Health
 - (a) Newly elected: Camille Biorn replacing LaVona Andrew
- vii) Standing Appeals Panel
 - (1) CAL
 - (a) Newly elected: Samantha Blatt, Kellee Kirkpatrick, and Bethany Schultz Hurst

7) Consent Agenda (Click links below for documents)

- a) AAB Official Minutes February 9, 2023
- b) AAB Official Minutes April 13, 2023
- c) ASC Official Minutes March 17, 2023
- d) BAS Official Minutes December 09, 2022
- e) FPPC Official Minutes March 29, 2023
- f) GERC Official Minutes October 25, 2022
- g) GERC Official Minutes February 14, 2023
- h) GERC Official Minutes February 28, 2023
- i) GERC Official Minutes March 14, 2023
- j) GERC Official Minutes April 11, 2023
- k) UCC Official Minutes March 9, 2023
- l) UCC Official Minutes April 13, 2023
- m) UCC Official Minutes April 20, 2023

8) UCC - Wesley Usyak (Click links below for documents)

- a) Motion to approve the following reports
 - i) Gen Ed Comprehensive Program Review Final Report
 - ii) GERC AACU Value Rubric Objective 8 Revised SLO Report

9) ASISU Report - Austin Robison, CoSE Senator (Click link below for document)

a) End of year report



- b) Motion in support of 'Closed Week' Resolution
 - i) ASISU Closed Week Resolution 621

10) Acting Provost Update - Adam Bradford/Karen Appleby

- a) Discussion of 'Academic Freedom' syllabus statement
- 11) FPPC Jared Barrott/Libby Howe

12) Continuing Business

- a) Athletics Advisory Board One-year term (Click link below for document)
 - i) Motion to approve candidate Alex Rose for AAB
 - ii) Alex Rose Letter of Interest
- b) Emeritus Faculty review and approval for Sarah McCurry (Click links below for document and file)
 - i) Motion to grant Sarah McCurry Emeritus status
 - ii) Memo for Emeritus Requests for 2023-2024
 - iii) Sarah McCurry
- c) Presentation of recommendations from the DGE Work Group (Click links below for documents)
 - i) Motion to approve recommendations
 - (1) Climate Survey and Focus Groups Budget Proposal
 - (2) Memo HEDS DGE Campus Climate Survey and Focus Groups
 - (3) HEDS DGE Campus Climate Survey
 - (4) DGE Work Group Recommendations
- d) Elections update and ratification of newly elected reps
 - i) Motion to ratify and seat the newly elected reps for Faculty Senate

13) New Business (Click links below for documents)

- a) Ombuds Report Dave Delehanty
- b) Evaluation of administrators
 - i) Motion/discussion
- c) Nominations for Vice Chair of Faculty Senate for 2023-2024 Academic Year
 - i) Fredi Giesler
- d) ISU weather alerts and closures Caryn Evilia
 - i) Motion to amend guidelines
 - ii) New Proposal for alerts and closures
- e) Academic Integrity Council Bylaws
 - i) Motion to approve Bylaws
 - ii) AIC Bylaws

14) Adjournment