

ISU Faculty Senate Agenda

Monday, April 10, 2023 4:00-6:00 p.m.

Location: Shirley Sargent Family Boardroom, Student Union Building, Pocatello Campus

Or join via Zoom:

https://isu.zoom.us/j/83464862851?pwd=M0VqSERaQjBGZ3A0RFFiY3dWbnRMdz09

Meeting ID: 834 6486 2851

Passcode: 692492

In Attendance:

Appearing by ZOOM:

Absent but Excused:

Absent:

Ex-Officio:

Recording Secretary: Lisa Hunt

- 1) Chair Call Meeting to Order/Remarks
- 2) Reading of Tribal Land Acknowledgement
- 3) Open Forum
 - a) Discussion on the status of the Idaho Falls Campus
- 4) Approve Today's Meeting Agenda
- 5) Faculty Senate Minutes Approval March 13 and 27, 2023
- 6) Announcements
 - a) Bengal Giving Day is April 11-12 http://bengalgivingday.com/
 - b) BengalWeb Portal Jason Carr has agreed to be the faculty rep
 - c) Currently soliciting input for the President's Academic and Research Plan Project Charter send all comments to Dan Dale
 - d) The three finalists for the Director of the University's Sustainability Programs are here this week
 - e) Information on "Closed Week" policy change is in BOX
 - f) Chair selection processes are in BOX
 - g) Sustainability workgroup meets via ZOOM 8:30am the first Tuesday of each month
 - h) Elections DEADLINE to have the newly elected Senator Names to Lisa Hunt is TODAY and no later!
 - i) Faculty Senate
 - (1) CAL total of 5 senators
 - (a) Continuing: Neelam Sharma, John Dudgeon, Fredi Giesler
 - (b) Cycling out: Gesine Hearn and Bethanie Schultz Hurst



- (c) Need to elect 2 more New term to end 2026
- (2) College of Education total of 2 senators
 - (a) Continuing: Suzanne Beasterfield
 - (b) Cycling out: Amanda Eller
 - (c) Need to elect 1 more New term to end 2026
- (3) College of Technology total of 3 senators
 - (a) Continuing: Duane Rawlings
 - (b) Replacing Michael Clarke special election New term to end 2024
 - (c) Cycling out: Ryan Pitcher
 - (d) Need to elect 1 to replace Ryan (plus Michael) New term to end 2026
- (4) KDHS total of 5 senators
 - (a) Continuing: Michelle Anderson, John Holmes
 - (b) Cycling out: Dave Hachey, Diane Ogiela, Chad Yates
 - (c) Need to elect 3 more New term to end 2026
- (5) Meridian total of 2 senators
 - (a) Continuing: none
 - (b) Replacing Josh Woolstenhulme special election New term to end 2025
 - (c) Cycling out: Barb Mason
 - (d) Need to elect 1 to replace Barb (plus Josh) New term to end 2026
- (6) CoSE total of 4 senators
 - (a) Continuing: Caryn Evilia, Colden Baxter, Ken Aho, Mikle Ellis
 - (b) Cycling out: Dan Dale (will remain as Ex-Officio)
 - (c) No election for Senators is needed
- (7) College of Business total of 2 senators
 - (a) Continuing: Dan Cravens, Dave Bagley
 - (b) Cycling out: none
 - (c) No election needed
- (8) Library total of 1 senator
 - (a) Continuing: Spencer Jardine
 - (b) Cycling out: none
 - (c) No election needed
- (9) Idaho Falls total of 1 senator
 - (a) Continuing: None
 - (b) Replacing Cathy Peppers (retiring) special election New term to end 2025
 - (c) Need to elect 1 to replace Cathy New term to end 2025
- ii) FPPC
 - (1) College of Business
 - (a) Replacing Tesa Stegner New term to end 2026
 - (2) College of Health
 - (a) Replacing Jared Barrott New term to end 2026
 - (3) Library
 - (a) Replacing Beth Downing New term to end 2026
 - (4) Lecturer-At-Large
 - (a) New position per the By-laws New term to end 2026
- iii) GERC
 - (1) CAL
 - (a) Replacing Erika Fulton New term to end 2026
 - (2) College of Education



- (a) Replacing Shu-Yuan Lin New term to end 2026
- (3) CoSE
 - (a) Replacing DeWayne Derryberry New term to end 2026
- (4) College of Health
 - (a) Replacing Leciel Bono New term to end 2026
 - (b) Replacing Omotayo Omotowa special election New term to end 2025
- (5) College of Tech
 - (a) Replacing Mike Matusek special election New term to end 2025
- (6) Library
 - (a) Replacing Cathy Gray (retiring) special election New term to end 2024
- iv) UCC
 - (1) CAL
 - (a) Replacing Carmen Febles New term to end 2026
 - (2) CoSE
 - (a) Replacing Janet Loxterman New term to end 2026
 - (3) College of Technology
 - (a) Replacing Wesley Usyak New term to end 2026
 - (4) College of Health
 - (a) Replacing LaVona Andrew New term to end 2026
- v) Research Council
 - (1) College of Pharmacy
 - (a) Replacing Gustavo Gonzalez-Cuevas New term to end 2026
- vi) Academic Standards Council
 - (1) College of Technology
 - (a) Replacing Tim Leishman New term to end 2026
 - (2) College of Business
 - (a) Replacing Ruiling Guo New term to end 2026

7) Consent Agenda (Click links below for documents)

- a) FPPC Official Minutes March 15, 2023
- b) RC Official Minutes March 10, 2023
- c) DGE Workgroup Minutes March 6, 2023

8) Office of Research Report - Marty Blair

9) Provost Update - Adam Bradford

- a) Tenure and promotion
- b) Next steps for our three initiatives
 - i) Evaluations for Deans, Chairs and Faculty
 - ii) Strengthen Ombuds Office
 - iii) Chair selection
- c) Deans' survey

10) FPPC - Jared Barrott/Libby Howe



- a) Policies to approve (Click link below for document)
 - i) ISUPP 7030 General Policy for Animal Use
 - (1) Motion to remove as 'tabled'
 - (2) Motion to approve
- b) Athletics Advisory Board we have one candidate for four-year term, need one more candidate for oneyear term
 - i) Motion to approve Duane Rawlings for four-year term
- c) Ombuds appointment (Click links below for documents)
 - i) Laura Ahola-Young
 - ii) <u>Jeremy Thomas</u>
- d) Elections update and ratification of newly elected reps

12) New Business

- a) Emeritus Faculty review and approval (Click links below for document and file)
 - i) Emeritus Requests for 2023-2024
 - ii) Emeritus Info for Faculty Senate
- b) Nominations for Vice Chair of Faculty Senate for 2023-2024 Academic Year

13) Adjournment

14) Next Faculty Senate Meeting - April 24, 2023