Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University

Technical safety office

About the Environmental Health & Safety Department

The Environmental Health and Safety (EHS) Department reports to the interim Director, Dr. Clark Weaver, who—in that capacity—reports to the Office for Research. The department is located in the Physical Science Building, rooms 101B (as well as 101A, 102, 103, and 105) of the Physical Sciences Complex, Building 3 of the Pocatello Campus.The EHS Office is located in the Physics department at ISU, in room 101B of the Physical Sciences Building.

An advisory committee will meet regularly to provide support, feedback and guidance to the EHS department. Advisory committee members will include representation from all campuses, including academia, research, facilities and student affairs.

The Director is also ISU’s Radiation Safety Officer, receiving technical direction from the Radiation Safety Committee, which is appointed by the Vice President for Research.

We employ mix of full-time EHS professionals, and part-time EHS interns (students).

The EHS department has the responsibility and the authority to accomplish ISU’s health and safety mission, and provide a full range of support to all units on ISU campuses.

Functional areas in the department include:

  • Radiation Safety
  • Environmental Protection/Compliance
  • Industrial Hygiene
  • Operational safety.

The functions of the EHS department are outlined in the VPR’s memo and are contained in the ISU Radiation Safety Policy Manual, Hazardous Waste Procedures Manual and a range of EHS program documents available on the department webpages or by contacting the department.

ESHD Memo from VPR Van der Schyf