Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University

ISU College of Arts and Letters awards 48 Idaho high school seniors with scholarships to ISU; students received nearly $340,000 in scholarships

ISU College of Arts and Letters awards 48 Idaho high school seniors with scholarships to ISU; students received nearly $340,000 in scholarships
Road Scholarship recipient Leonor Serna from Aberdeen High School with College of Arts and Letters dean Kandi Turley-Ames.

Idaho State University’s College of Arts and Letters awarded 48 Road Scholarships to Idaho high school seniors totaling $80,000 during the 2017-2018 school year. In addition to the money provided by the College of Arts and Letters, the awarded students also received almost $260,000 in scholarships from ISU just by applying.  

The Road Scholars program was started in 2016 when the College’s dean, Kandi Turley-Ames, wanted to find another way to help combat Idaho’s low go-on rate for students continuing on to college after high school.  

“The Road Scholarship program allows us to recruit more students from eastern Idaho, which has always been a goal of ours,” Turley-Ames said. “The program allows us to give scholarships to some of Idaho’s best and brightest students and helps them see that college is a viable option.”

Students were nominated by their high schools and were then asked to write a one-page essay that described their college and career goals. Once the College received the submissions, students were selected based on their GPA, major of interest and goals highlighted in the essay. The College scheduled a visit to each high school and surprised the winning students during an assembly, class or small meeting. 

During the first year of the Road Scholarship program, 2017, the College gave out 14 scholarships totaling $28,000. This year, the College also partnered with ISU’s College of Education, College of Science and Engineering, Kasiska Division of Health Sciences and the College of Technology, which allowed them to reach more students.

Students from Aberdeen, Bingham Academy, Blackfoot, Bonneville, Century, Emerson, Firth, Grace, Highland, Hillcrest, Idaho Falls, Independence, Marsh Valley, New Horizon, Pocatello, Preston, Shelley, Sho-Ban, Skyline, Snake River and Soda Springs High Schools were awarded scholarships.

For more information about the Road Scholarship program or photo requests, contact Holly Kartchner at (208) 282-5362 or

For a full list of students awarded, see below.


Aberdeen High School
-Leonor Serna
-Kylee Gugelman


Bingham Academy
-Leslie Maldonado


Blackfoot High School
-Hagen Moore
-Illiana Monerrat Cardona
-Hailey Pearson


Bonneville High School
-Tylee Eck


Century High School
-Olivia Edlredge
-Jarred Albano
-Adriene Pavek
-Shelby Killian


Emerson High School
-Trevor Poulsen


Firth High School
-Brice Drake
-McKadee Stolworthy
-Bailey Steele


Grace High School
-Kresta Stoddard


Highland High School
-Jacob Suthers
-Kathryn Brown
-Kaylee Cooper
-Amia Hopster


Hillcrest High School
-Guadalupe Carrillo
-Odalis Garcia
-Isabelle Estrada


Idaho Falls High School
-Kaila Smith


Independence High School
-Amity Mullins
-Katelyn Peterson
-Kailie Thomas


Marsh Valley High School
-Emma Sutton


New Horizon High School
-Jasmine Salazar-Cervantes


Pocatello High School
-Elizabeth Estopinal


Preston High School
-Grace Neilson


Shelley High School
-Breidyn Neilson
-Ashley Johnson
-Kyra Finner
-Zackery Morris
-Jazmin Romero
-Emilee Richabaugh
-Preston Yost


Sho-Ban Junior/Senior High School
-KiRae Gonzalez


Skyline High School
-Alma Alvarez
-Bailey Pack


Snake River High School
-Sierra Benson
-Joseph Hammond
-Larry Hubler
-Matthew Kelly
-Gabriel Becerra


Soda Springs High School
-Haley Ledbetter
-Rosemarie Gandenberger