ISU Headlines

Three Idaho State University faculty members honored as distinguished faculty

Posted May 12, 2014

Three Idaho State University faculty were honored as Distinguished Faculty at ISU Commencement May 10 in Holt Arena.

They are Kelly Fanning Pesnell, nursing assistant clinical professor, Distinguished Teacher; Lawrence Beaty, faculty member, chair and executive director of the Idaho State University, Energy Systems Technology and Education Center, Distinguished Service Award; and Alan Hunt, research associate professor of physics, Distinguished Researcher.

“These three awards are the highest honors bestowed on faculty at Idaho State University and it is a distinction to receive one,” said Laura Woodworth-Ney, ISU Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs. “The honorees are among our most accomplished faculty, and we are proud to recognize them.”

Distinguished Teacher, Kelly Fanning Pesnell is an assistant clinical professor at the ISU School of Nursing and a family nurse practitioner. Her areas of teaching expertise and interest include rural, migrant and geriatric health care. Since 2007 Pesnell has served as an academic advisor to nurse practitioner students and as a clinical preceptor in her rural family practice. Kelly Pesnell

She teaches clinical and theoretical courses in primary care, advanced health assessment, evidence-based practice, and issues of the Doctor in Nursing Practice. She has been instrumental in the development of the Doctor of Nursing Practice at ISU and has coordinated and instructed advanced clinical skills workshops and primary care simulation.

Pesnell’s practice provides family and bilingual (Spanish) health care services with emphasis on health promotion and disease prevention. Her research and project interests focus on rural populations and include health promotion, childhood obesity, refugee health and migrant health. Other areas of interest include interprofessional practice models and service learning. She strives to develop unique clinical practice opportunities for nurse practitioner students while addressing the needs of an increasingly global population.
She serves as a peer reviewer for the American Journal for Nurse Practitioners and the Online Journal of Rural Nursing and Healthcare. She is a member of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners, Nurse Practitioners of Idaho, Rural Nurse Organization, and Sigma Theta Tau International.

Other finalists for the Distinguished Teacher Award, who are 2014 Outstanding Master Teachers, are Catherine Black, associate lecturer in the Department of Biological Sciences; Alex Bolinger, assistant professor of management; Paul Link, professor of geosciences; and Lois Marquette, assistant clinical professor of nursing.

Distinguished Service Award, Lawrence H. Beaty is currently a faculty member, chair and executive director of the Idaho State University Energy Systems Technology and Education Center. Beaty joined the ISU faculty in 2004 following a career in national and international power generation management, and Naval Nuclear Power.Lawrence Beaty

Beaty’s dedication to service extends to his many activities with Idaho’s K-12 schools where he has been instrumental in Idaho’s professional development program for K-12 teachers. He has conducted workshops and school visits to aid primary and secondary teachers across the state in developing STEM education programs. Beaty has worked to create summer activities for secondary students and bring technical and academic competitions to Idaho K-12 students. His activities have brought energy conservation, efficiency and renewable energy awareness to students in Idaho. He works with the Idaho National Laboratory to support energy education.

In addition, Beaty has provided support to the Idaho Wind Working Group, the Idaho Solar Energy Working Group, the Idaho Technology Council, and Harvesting Clean Energy (a program of The National Center for Appropriate Technology). His service to the Idaho Department of Labor has contributed to statewide efforts to retrain the long-term unemployed by helping Idaho workers upgrade their skills and knowledge to create a more competitive workforce.

Beaty has conducted workshops and summer events for Native American youth (in the US and Canada) to explore education pathways and has worked with other Universities and Colleges in Idaho and the Greater Pacific Northwest to develop economically and environmentally sustainable energy systems.

Other finalists for the Distinguished Public Service Award, who are 2014 Outstanding Public Service Award winners are Alex Bolinger, assistant professor of management; Ernest Keeley, professor of biology; Cathy Kriloff, professor of mathematics; and Joshua Pak, professor of chemistry.

Distinguished Researcher, Alan W. Hunt received his Ph.D. in physics from Harvard University in 2000. In 2002, he joined Idaho State University’s Idaho Accelerator Center as a research assistant professor. He was appointed deputy director of the Idaho Accelerator Center in 2006 and received tenure and promotion to research associate professor in 2007. In 2013, Dr. Hunt stepped down as deputy director of the Idaho Accelerator Center and is currently a research associate professor of physics.Alan Hunt

During his nearly 12 years at Idaho State University, his research projects have spanned from liquid semiconductors for novel power generation applications to electron/ion induced spaceship charging. However, his most prolific research area has been investigating and developing techniques for detecting, identifying and quantifying fissionable/fissile materials for security, nonproliferation and nuclear forensics applications.

The common theme in all of his research endeavors has consistently been and continues to be the interaction of ionizing radiation with matter and how to exploit the associated phenomenon for applications. These research programs have resulted in seven students receiving master’s degrees, five students receiving Ph.D. degrees, 40 publications, four patents and more than $20 million in research funding as principal investigator or co-principal investigator.

Other Distinguished Researcher finalists, who are 2014 ISU Outstanding Researcher winners, are Jennifer Attebery, professor of English; Rex W. Force; associate dean for clinical research in the Division of Health Sciences; Erika Kuhlman, professor of history; and Kathleen Lohse, associate professor of ecology.