Faculty Senate Announcements and Notifications

Faculty Senate Chairs' Announcements

August 20, 2014

Dear Faculty,

For those of you who are new to campus, we would like to welcome you aboard!  For those of you who are more experienced, we are excited to see you back and wish you all the best as you prepare for a new semester.  We would like to welcome you back and to update you on important events taking place around campus in the next few weeks.  

Multiculturalism Workshops

Idaho State University, under the direction of President Arthur C. Vailas, recently announced a new Multiculturalism Initiative for the ISU campus. As part of this initiative, the Office of Human Resources, International Programs Office, and EO/AA & Diversity, is pleased to announce several workshop opportunities for ISU faculty, staff and students.  It is expected that ALL ISU employees attempt to attend one of the workshops below. 

September 11th  Multicultural Relations and Communication
ISU Faculty Workshop:
Diversity, multiculturalism, and international relations and communication between faculty and students, staff and students.   Two times offered:

September 12th  Multicultural Relations and Communication
ISU Staff Workshop:

***Remember to print out the handout (included with the original facultymemos email, or click the link) and bring to the session you attend. 

Welcome Back - Orange and Black!
Our opening Communiversity event will be taking place on August 25, from 4 - 7 pm in Old Town.  More information is available at Welcome Back Orange and Black!

Faculty Senate Meetings
Faculty Senate will start its regularly scheduled meetings on Monday, August 25 at 4 pm in the Faculty Senate Conference Room.  More information about the agenda, business items, and other items of interest will soon be available at http://www.isu.edu/fsen


Clayn Lambert and Jenny Semenza
Faculty Senate Co-Chairs (2014-2015)

August 13, 2014

Dear Faculty

The State Board of Education is meeting at Idaho State University in the Pond Student Union Building, Salmon River Suite.  The Work Session agenda for today, Wednesday August 13th, beginning at 1:00 p.m. is Program Prioritization. See: http://www.boardofed.idaho.gov/meetings/board/archive/2014/08_13_14_14/02WORKSESSION.pdf  If you are interested in the process or results of the Program Prioritization we would encourage you to attend.

Thank you,
Clayn & Jenny
Faculty Senate Co-Chairs


June 2, 2014


The Faculty Senate voted last week to elect faculty to the Standing Appeals Pool for three-year terms. We had a robust pool from which to choose: 11 faculty were nominated or self-nominated. We had a quorum of Senators engaged in voting. The following faculty members were elected to serve in the Standing Appeals Pool:

  • Chris Loether, Anthropology
  • Diana Livingston-Friedley, Music
  • Cathleen Tarp, Languages & Litertures
  • Julie Melton, CSD, DHS (Meridian)

Thank you for your willingness to serve and participation in governance at ISU. This information has been sent to Human Resources so that the Standing Appeals Pool is readily staffed.


Sarah and Linwood
Faculty Senate Co-chairs

  • Idaho State University • 921 South 8th Avenue • Pocatello, Idaho, USA 83209
  • About ISU
  • Contact ISU